We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inexpensive Extended-Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Roundwood Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Inexpensive Extended-Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

This was our first experience with an extended-stay hotel, and we were pretty impressed. I never realized how handy it can be to have a full kitchen even on a short trip. This hotel is located not far from 95, and is about a 15 minute drive into downtown Portland. We got a great deal on the Marriott website. The staff was very friendly, and we would definitely stay here again while visiting Portland.

  • Liked — Great price, convenience
  • Disliked — 15 minutes to Portland
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
39
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Upon arriving to the hotel, we realized that it was located right next to a very busy highway. We were actually quite pleased with our room. We had a two bedroom suite which had a living room and kitchen as well. We originally had booked a one bedroom suite but upon check-in were upgrated. It was quite spacious and affordable at only $79 a night. We unfortunately did not sleep well as there were constant noises outside, including a truck that came to empty the garbage dumpster at 3:30 in the morning! The highway noise was also loud, even with the windows closed. On the plus side, the room was great and the staff was WONDERFUL. If we stayed here again, I would definately request a room that did not face the highway with the hopes that it would be a bit more quiet. But for the money, it was worth it! They also allow pets which is a big plus for us!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Just returned after a 2 night stay. This hotel is in a great location, away but not far from downtown Portland (10 min drive on I295), close to Maine Mall (5 min drive), airport (10 min but no plane noise), and within 1-2 blocks you have a Walmart, Dunkin Donuts, Shaw's supermarket, Christmas Tree shop, Circuit City, etc.

The rooms are nice and new. We were told every room in the hotel have queen size beds, which is a plus for us. The bathroom was nice and clean and the kitchen has a microwave, fridge, dish washer, sink, dishes, pots/pans, etc. Although we didn't use the kitchen area, it is nice to have for a hotel room. There is a small dining table, sofa and cable TV with many preimum channels. They have free hi-speed internet outlet and ethernet cable in the room, for those with laptops. They have coin-laundry in the lobby, $1 each for washer and drying. It was useful for us as we went kayaking and got our clothes wet.

Free parking with ample spaces in and around the hotel, free continental breakfast, and free Green Mountain coffee at all times. Their coffee was really good, very similar to Dunkin Donuts (but it's free!). As with other people in Maine, the check-in staff was nice and friendly. We will not hesitate to stay here again next time we goto Portland. And will consider staying at TownePlace Suites on our next vacation.

  • Liked — the amenities
  • Disliked — they don't have more places like this
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

I found this place online and was very pleased with the result. Just off the turnpike it is easy to find and a 7 minute drive to the Maine Mall makes it easily accessible. We stayed for 2 nights and would have stayed longer if we could. Clean, spacious rooms with a kitchenette put this at the top of my list, especially travelling with a one year old. The hotel has a small exercise room and pool, laundry facilities and an outdoor bbq to grill your own food. I think I even saw a basketball court in back so it is definately kid friendly. The complimentary breakfast is a little sparse compared to others but with the kitchen in the room it didn't really matter. For $89 a night you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, NB, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

Got an excellent deal directly on the Marriott web site a few days prior to arrival. Hotel is well located just off the Maine Turnpike and less than 5 minutes from the Maine Mall. Arrived to find that we were upgraded from a studio room to a 2 bedroom suite...very nice room. Well equipped kitchenette, spacious living area and two nice bedrooms. Reasonably quiet location and the grab and go breakfast was perfectly adequate with bagels, muffins, granola bars, coffee, juice, and apples available. Only complaint was a noisy fridge in our room. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2005

My boyfrined and I LOVED this hotel. It's very different than others in that your room includes a good-sized and well-equipped kitchenette, so we were able to go on vacation but save some money by buying groceries and eating in. This hotel was in a great location...across the street from a grocery store, 2 miles from a mall, several shopping plazas and restaurants, and less than 10 minutes from downtown Portland. Also, if you like to fish (which was why we were in the area) there are several locations to fish for strippers. The room was extremely clean and comfortable with a couch and kitchen table, and there were a lot of channels to pick from on the TV. I can't say enough about this hotel, which includes a small pool and gym. Wherever you go, try to find a TownePlace Suite to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2005

We stayed here back in September 2004. I booked via priceline.com, so we had no idea what hotel we would 'get'. We needed a room for two nights. Great location. Very clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The take and go breakfast is a great idea. There are many restaurants nearby, and shopping too.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough

Address: 700 Roundwood Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Towneplace Suites Scarborough
Scarborough Towneplace Suites
TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.