We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Scarborough
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

It was nice place to stay and staff was friendly. Nicely located on US 1, closely to where we need to visit. Well kept grounds and nice flowers. Clean large room was plus with refrigerater. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
50
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Firstly I had very nice and pleasant conversation with some lady employee over the phone who quoted the price and potential "AAA" discount. So, we made a reservation.
When we showed up manager (Jayesh) seemed to be in a very bad mood and very rude from the very start. Then I mentioned possibitiIy of "AAA" discount. He immediately accused me of lying and saying that he wants us to get out. I said that it should be no problem and we'd like to stay for a regular price. He was still fuming and said that we should leave.
We left and found another clean and decent property within 5 minutes.
Now we realize that we were lucky comparing to what other "guests" experienced with this person.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g40861-d630348-r133038980-Americas_Best_Value_Inn_Scarborough_Portland-Scarborough_Maine.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

So for us the lesson was: to read all previous Tripadvisor reviews more carefully.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I do apologies for inconvenience you experienced while you were at Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough Maine. Since you booked room online at rate which was lower than AAA rate I have no authority to reduce your lower rate. I would suggest you to book on www.americasbestvalueinn.com in order get your desire rate. We have few different rates available there.
Once again I do apologies and regret that I was not able to meet your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Clean place, everything as advertised. She brought us extra towels and was helpfull when asked about local restaurants Its located in a nice area and there is a micro brewery close by .Portland is real close and kinda expensive and Kennebunkport .in the other direction is real expensive .Nice big and clean bathroom and just hard to beat for the money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here last October while shopping and exploring the area. The service was great, the room was extremely clean and comfortable. I am returning this year with girlfriends! Highly recommend! It is central to many of the shopping areas, and close to lots of amenities!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My daughter and her friends had evening plans in Portland, so I needed a place that was not too far away. There were very few rooms available in Portland itself, and they were very expensive, so I broadened my search and found this motel. It was only 15 minutes away and reasonably priced.

The room was very clean, the hotel owner was pleasant, and the room was quiet. The bathroom was clean and huge. The beds were firm but comfortable. The included breakfast was cereal, coffee, and pastry.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel/motel was a reasonable place to spend the night. The room was clean, the reception staff were friendly. Bathroom was clean and lots of room.

Nothing special but also a decent price.

Restaurants were a drive away.

Free parking outside the rooms. Although air conditioned, you could open the windows for a bit of outside air.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed one night on our trip from Boston to Bar Harbor. The hotel was very easy to find on a main road and located in a beautiful area near Cape Elzabeth and Twin Lights State Park and the Portland Head Light. While very 80's looking (think country blue, green and burgundy) - it was roomy with a king bed and sitting area complete with 2 large queen anne chairs, table and reading lamp. The bathroom was also basic but HUGE and very clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. There is no pool...my finger slipped below and accidentally rated a pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your time and writing feedback for Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough. We are glad that you liked us. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.