We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
New City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We booked this hotel for 4 nights during a visit to Maine. It seemed to be in a good location to hit the spots that we were interested in. The owner is so friendly and very helpful. You can tell that they care about their guests and want to make sure you have a great stay.

The price we paid cannot be beat - especially when other hotels nearby were charging more than double. I was a little nervous being that it was so inexpensive, but as soon as we pulled up, I felt more at ease. Usually, when you find a place that is so inexpensive, it leaves a lot to be desired - but not this time! The room was a nice size and very, very clean. That, to me, is the most important thing. We were able to access sites w/in Maine such as Portland, Kennebunkport, Kittery, Old Orchard Beach, the Maine Mall - all within a decent amount of driving time and because the hotel is on Route 1, its very convenient.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel while we were there, so we can't comment on that - but they do have coffee and I think muffins and danish in the check-in area. We actually went to Tim Horton's a couple of mornings, which is right down the street from the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again. Great value and a really good stay! You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Liked — The price and it was nice and clean!
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    49
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
56
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

My wife and I spent 7 nites in this motel while touring the Portland area. The room was large and user friendly with microwave and refrig. The beds were very comfortable and the a/c-heater quiet (a real plus), and the owner concerned about his guests comfort. Prices were excellent. I can easily recommend this motel to any one visiting the Portland, ME region, and needing a quiet safe location.

TMc, Houston, TX

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

For decades this motel was run by Fred Kilfoil, well liked and very involved with the local community. He had a reputation for flawless service. We used to put up visitors to our local manufacturing business there. When I asked one friend how the facility was, he replied, "I think that this is the cleanest room I have ever stayed in." Now under new ownership, I actually stayed there myself, and the prior positive comments are still true. It is a family business, and they are on site day and night. It is an extraordinarily good value, and they have a free open wireless network as well.

  • Liked — Local owners, on site
  • Disliked — On US Route 1, a very busy thoroughfare
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

In middle of SNOW STORM I found this place, which was very very inexpensive. It is easily accesible on Route 1. Beds are comfortable and they have wireless internet which works great.

  • Liked — Rates, cleaniness and location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

I had reservations at another hotel up the street. I got there and found out their boiler had broke (it was -4 outside) and was faced with trying to find another place. I showed up at this hotel and was greeted by the friendliest desk clerk/manager. He promptly assisted me and quoted me an extremely reasonable price (only $5 more/night than the other place).
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. 10 minutes after arriving in my room, the clerk called to ask if everything was to my liking. The bathroom was huge and the beds comfortable. The heat worked wonderfully! There is also free wireless!
This hotel is convenient to everything you need also...beaches, state parks, Portland, etc.
I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tesuque, NM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

I was staying at Pine Point with too many inlaws and needed some space of my own. This fit the bill. The owner/manager, Jay, was very accomodating and pleasant. This was half the price of a place we stayed at right in Pine Point and was far superior in every respect. It's not on the beach, but it's only a few minutes to get there. They also had wireless high speed internet access. Just down the road from The Freaky Bean, an excellent Espresso place. I plan to stay there next summer as well.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

The owners were very friendly, the rooms clean and spacious, and the bathroom was huge. We often choose budget rooms and this one had a nice price and was nicely equipped. There were no loud guests and no partying. I don't think you can go wrong with this one.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious.
  • Disliked — The coffee on the conti breakfast was weak.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.