We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I am a seasoned traveller and have been visiting Portland regularly for the last couple of years. I ventured to Scarborough originally to save money. I happened on this gem and won't stay anywhere else when visiting this area. It is a family operated motel and they put their heart and money into this business. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff are courteous and the rates offer excellent value. I constantly find new upgrades in the rooms. It is well worth driving a few extra miles to stay here; I do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I would like to thank you for your feedback and time. We lookforward to serve you in future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    48
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
55
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ultra clean. Huge comfortable bed. Modern decor. Spotless bathroom. Free Wifi that's easy to log on and stay on. Free continental breakfast. Easy highway access. Low price. Is there anything wrong with this motel?

If you need a swimming pool, fitness center, or a flat-screen TV, you might think so. But that's not what I'm looking for in a "Best Value" brand. I searched on Priceline and didn't find anything in the area for a price similar to this motel, so I made the reservation at their website and I will be happy to do that again. I've stayed in ABVI hotels before and it is not a "chain" that enforces strict standards on their members, so I am wary of the brand name. But in this case, it's truly a good value and a very nice place to spend a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Glad that you like our place which meet your requirements. Look forward to serve you in future..
We will consider to have Flat screen TV's in our room.
Thanks for your time writing review for us which I will discuss with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LORAIN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

basic room at a value price, roomy and clean except the carpet could have used spot cleaning. They had a basic continental breakfast available but the office smelled so weird and musty, my husband wouldn't eat there. OK for what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our cute little motel. I am pleased that you found our hotel satisfactory to your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by office area. I will ensure we will update it so that you may have pleasant guest experience.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've been staying at this motel for years, since before it was an America's Best. It is a great value, the rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable, and the folks who own it are extremely nice. This isn't a deluxe hotel by any means, but it is clean, affordable, safe, convenient, and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It is our pleasure to get a great review from you; the team here at the Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough-Portland Maine appreciates your time and cheered with your words. Your feedback gives us motivation to do right. Look forward to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was clean, and it was good value for the money. Nice big room and comfortable bed. However, the chair cushions had no padding, you almost fall thru the chairs and the bathroom had an odd smell. As in unpleasant.

Room Tip: Might want to sniff it out first....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were looking for reasonable alternative in Portland area and tried this place on friend’s recommendations and it turned out to be right. Front desk person was very accommodative and helped us to locate all what we were looking for.
Not a high-end but was clean and great looking with modern furnishings and amenities. Due to small size place was much quite and we had a good night sleep. Location is not far from Portland and easy to find on US Route 1.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I refuse to pay NYC prices to stay in Portland, Maine.. I mean, seriously? $200/night? Luckily, I found ABVI in Scarborough. The rooms were large, very clean, and the property was quiet and close to everything. The room had a very nice sized mini-fridge for food and beverage storage. Go to their website and register for their ABVI program to save 15% over Priceline and travelocity prices. The manager and staff were very nice and accomodating. Don't bother with the continental breakfast - it's very minimal (stale cinnamon rolls, a few bananas and apples) and you're better off going to the Hannaford grocery store down the road and stocking your in-room fridge with healthier/tastier options. It's not the Hilton, but odds are you aren't spending too much time in your room, so who cares?

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor unless you like lugging your suitcases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookMotel A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I would like thanks for your feedback on your stay at Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough-Portland Maine. I would consider more option for breakfast in near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.