We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient cottages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pride Motel & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pride Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Pride Motel & Cottages
677 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient cottages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two weekday nights in cottage #2. As we pulled in, we were a little wary because it was off of a busy road. But in the cottage, you could not hear the traffic. The cottage featured an a/c unit, a modern bathroom and kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, and silverware. Our cottage had a small porch with table and chairs, but there was also a screened-in gazebo on the grounds. There was a pool, but we did not check it out. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the pillows were flat, but everything was clean. As mentioned, the grounds are off a busy road, so don't expect a night in the country, but overall we had a good experience. The price was right too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We rented two cottages for a two-family Maine vacation in 2013. We loved it. The kids loved the pool and playground -- they could run free. The cottages were clean and well-kept. The manager was extremely accommodating and really helped us out when we inadvertently left our son's stuffed animal behind -- they mailed it to us. Great convenience/sub shop across the street and awesome high-end grocer with seafood, wine, beer (they cook lobsters and steamers for you) about a block away (5 minute walk). Quick drive to the beach or ride your bikes. We loved it and we're going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family and I have been renting cottages and rooms during the summer at The Pride for the past 8 years and couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations. Recently, we purchased a home in the North Maine Woods and we need a place to stay, as the travel is too long for one day from Pennsylvania. Our experience with the rooms at The Pride in the off season is just as good. A pet-friendly place with warm and welcoming hosts...this place can't be beat!

Room Tip: At least once. stay in the cottages for an old-fashioned Maine vacation. Cottage 1 is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We needed a room for Thanksgiving visiting family in Scarborough. We were delighted to find Pride Motel walking distance from our relatives.

We were welcomed warmly and our room was just right. Heat worked well on the 22 F nights. All was clean ad fresh which we wondered about in the off season. Parking at the door was a plus as we arrived in pouring rain.

Mattress was not the usual hard hotel kind but a wonderful just right softness. i slept very well. I can see te in season there is a playground and gazebo.

I hope we can return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We rented 4 cabins as a group -- all very cozy and comfortable. Lovely outdoor spaces to enjoy. Quiet location, clean cabin, wonderful hosts. Kitchen had everything we needed. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We loved everything about our cottage. It was just the right size for the two of us, with one queen bed in the main room and a very small room with a twin that we used for a closet and "stuff" storage. We loved being able to cook every morning and the kitchen had everything we needed, though it was a bit cramped. Our ONLY complaint about the whole stay is that the space in the bathroom was very tight! You could hardly get to the toilet, the bathroom countertop came out so far. We had to SQUEEEEEZE through that little opening, between the countertop and the shower, which can be a hassle if you really need to go!

Grounds were lovely and the location was great. We'll stay here again for sure and maybe try a different cabin to help with the bathroom situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The manager, Dave, is very nice & helpful. But the room we had was very small...too much furniture crammed into too small of a space. It smelled a little bit musty also and we found la cucaracha (cockroach) in the bathroom. I think I'd pay a little bit more and stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pride Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Motel & Cottages

Address: 677 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pride Motel & Cottages in Scarborough, Maine offers ten uniquely individual cottages and seven motel rooms comfortably appointed with cable TV, air conditioning/heat, private bath, fully equipped kitchens, daily maid service, and sleeps 2 to 8 people. If you're planning a Maine vacation, we hope you'll consider staying with us - we have spacious grounds with picnic areas, a heated pool, and a recreation room with laundry facilities. Uncrowded Maine beaches, amusement parks, and fine restaurants are all nearby. We are also centrally located for day trips to outlet shopping in Freeport and Kittery, touring inland and coastal vistas, or exploring all that Portland, Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Pride Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Motel & Cottages Hotel Scarborough
Pride Motel And Cottages
Pride Motel & Cottages Maine/Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pride Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.