We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean motel room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pride Motel & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pride Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Pride Motel & Cottages
677 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Great Lakes, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean motel room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed during super peak season in Old Orchard Beach area, July 27-30, 2012 in a 1 queen bed room (#12).
Motel owners are very friendly.
Dave offered us a free cot bed for the 3rd member of our family. They was fully booked, no other room available.
Compares to other motels. This one is above average.

Room Tip: I guess for the same money. Cottages will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troopers82
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

This is our first trip to old orchard beach. We came with two other families. The kids ages ranged from four months to thirteen. The rooms were basic, what you would expect in a motel. Rooms were clean, overly deodorized though. It was very quiet. The kids loved the pool. We will probably stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights in July. We stayed in Room 10 next to the greenhouse. The cottages were old but well kept and very clean. They were far enough off the road not to be bothered by road noise. The price was good and we even had a furnished kitchen! Nice swimming pool and friendly staff. Highly recommended. We would happily return here when ever we pass through again. Great place.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage not a regular room. The cottages are a little farther off the road and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Pride last year because it was so highly rated on TripAdvisor. We had a wonderful experience staying in our cottage and were looking forward to returning this year. While we were a bit skeptical because of new ownership, we continued to be impressed with the great customer service. In a nutshell, the landscaping is very well kept, the property is quiet and in a good location, our cabin was cleaned every day, and we were given all the basic kitchen appliances we needed for small dinners in. Overall, we loved our stay and consider this a great value in the Portland area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet peaceful and clean place at an affordable price look no further you just found it. Front desk, housekeeping employees and owner were very polite and courteous. Facilities and grounds are extremely well maintained. This place beside being environmentally friendly has picnic tables, gazebo, pool table, indoor swimming pools to name just a few. Charcoal BBQ stove is supplied on request. My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages which was very clean. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you're looking for a generic hotel room whose windows hardly open and looks the same as every other chain hotel room in the country, don't stay at Pride!

Pride had personality and charm that you don't find too much these days; no shock that you can find it in Maine! My husband and I stayed in cabin #6 for just one night. It was spacious for a cabin rental, and it was a lot more charming than other cabins we've stayed in.

The bathroom looked like it had recently been renovated and provided great hot water. The view from the sink of the kitchenette is something I've been looking for in my OWN kitchen for years!

You can't hear the traffic from Route 1, even when the roads are wet. The cabins are set far off the road and are surrounded by the woods. Dave called us at 6:30pm on our way up, indicating that we were already all checked in, and we could go straight to the cabin when we arrived!

It was a fantastic stay and I would recommend staying here! For the price in the area, you can't do too much better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 18 month old son and I stayed at the Pride Motel last night. We were looking for someplace reasonably priced and comfortable while visiting Portland for a friend's birthday. We were completely charmed by our accommodations in this small motel, which is conveniently located on Rt. 1 in Scarborough. The owners were very sweet and welcoming. Our son was smitten with their skittish bichon frise, Alex Trebek. He also enjoyed playing on the sturdy jungle gym, running around the expansive lawn, and checking out the hens in the cool chicken coop in the back of the property. We'd like to thank Dave, the property manager, for volunteering to show us the baby chicks! They were adorable! There is also a really lovely greenhouse on the property and it is obvious that someone has 2 really green thumbs. Our room was comfortable, clean and had plenty of room for our son's pack n' play. We didn't notice any traffic noise from rt. 1 and got a good night's sleep. We have already discussed returning to stay at one of the Pride's cute cottages for a long weekend this summer. The owners told us that they are opening the pool Memorial Day Weekend. I think this is the perfect spot to vacation affordably near Portland and the beaches. There are so many family-friendly activities near by and it is a nice place to spend some time.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pride Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Motel & Cottages

Address: 677 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pride Motel & Cottages in Scarborough, Maine offers ten uniquely individual cottages and seven motel rooms comfortably appointed with cable TV, air conditioning/heat, private bath, fully equipped kitchens, daily maid service, and sleeps 2 to 8 people. If you're planning a Maine vacation, we hope you'll consider staying with us - we have spacious grounds with picnic areas, a heated pool, and a recreation room with laundry facilities. Uncrowded Maine beaches, amusement parks, and fine restaurants are all nearby. We are also centrally located for day trips to outlet shopping in Freeport and Kittery, touring inland and coastal vistas, or exploring all that Portland, Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pride Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Motel & Cottages Hotel Scarborough
Pride Motel And Cottages
Pride Motel & Cottages Maine/Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pride Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.