We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not real happy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Tide Restaurant

Rising Tide Restaurant
96 King St, Scarborough, ME 04074
(207) 883-1792
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not real happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice view, food was forgettable, clams were rubbery and very dark, many times the result of old oil. I don't want to trash the place so make your own decision. Off of my hit list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    51
    25
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A true diamond in the Rough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I visiting Scarborough for the first time, randomly came across this restaurant for dinner, and quickly became one of the most memorable parts of our trip! If you love initmate settings (about ten tables in the whole place), this is the place for you! We happened to be there at sunset, and one whole wall is windows facing the ocean, making it very romantic! And of course the food was to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and even better views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food was great even the kids loved it. The staff was nice and the view was great. Overall a very relaxing experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great At What They Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you go to the Rising Tide, understand that it's a classic Maine fish shack. They serve up plentiful portions of extremely well done fried seafood. If you're looking for things that are baked, broiled or creatively done, the Portland area has plenty of great choices, but this isn't one of them. The seating outside is comfortable, with plenty of activity on the dock or small beach to keep you diverted. The servers seem to be college students. They may not be extremely polished, but are friendly and attentive. All in all, one of my favorite spots for fried seafood and I've tried dozens in Maine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothin like Maine Lobstah!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Decided to try Rising Tide for a down home seafood dinner!! Right on the water with a beautiful view of the harbor, and a nice long dock for an after dinner walk. We decided to get boiled lobster and steamers, and we were NOT disappointed!!! Indoor and outdoor seating with a very friendly waitstaff!! Prices were great too.... We will being going back on our next visit to Old Orchard!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Tide Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rising Tide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Tide Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.