We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's Barbeque

Famous Dave's Barbeque
1 Cabela Blvd, Scarborough, ME
(207) 510-0025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 81 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Maine
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Why?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A chain barbecue restaurant where the manage does not even know the definition of a smoke ring. Better to eat no barbecue than bad barbecue.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    22
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“When will it come to canada???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Yum amazing atmosohere! Service was bar none! My mouth is still watering thinking about the meal I had there 3 weeks ago! A must try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fast and yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food was good, my husband said the ribs were awesome. Food came out really quickly, like almost too quickly. Everything was tasty and we'd go again. Service was a little awful, waitress was kind of short and liked to disappear for long periods of time even though the restaurant was nearly empty.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison GA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“I'm a saltaholic; it was TOOOOOO salty for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would be afraid for a person with high blood pressure to eat here. We had two different dishes and experienced excessive saltiness with both. I had the Georgia chopped pork salad; I can't imagine how bad it would have been not to have the lettuce to tone it down slightly. It must be the rubs. My husband's ribs were too salty; his mashed sweet potatoes tasted like butter and NOTHING else - flavorless. For precooked food, it took a long time to get our meals at 2:45 p.m. The cornbread was okay. If you like the quality of Tony Roma's DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“TASTY bbq!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very busy, but very quick to serve. The food is tasty and the service is awesome. We haven't tried anything we didn't like. Our recommendations are the ribs and the smoked salmon dish. Don't forget to purchase your sauce before you leave the restaurant so you can somewhat duplicate the same taste at home :0).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.