We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 10 minutes and Hit the Road” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Admiral Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Admiral Motel to your Saves list
The Admiral Motel
549 U.S. Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed 10 minutes and Hit the Road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Checked in to find a dirty room that smelled terrible. The floors were worn and the bathroom had a slippery film on the surface. To our surprise, on the wall was a smashed cockroach. That was enough, so we went to the office to indicate we could not stay. The manager refused to refund any part of the stay and was not sympathetic. The pictures look clean but I would avoid this place and spend a few extra dollars for a nicer location in Portland. This is one to avoid--

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We always travel to Maine . This is the first time stayed at the Admiral motel very pleased with the price and comfort , all the rooms are at the ground level ,park right in front of the room.Very clean and quiet, little bit old but, great beds a sheets , friendly owners know the area well .
Very good restaurants around, would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked this Motel on line and we were extremely happy with our choice. This is a older small Motel that is perfect if your looking for a place that is Clean, quiet, affordable and centrally located to everything. The View is beautiful and the Owners take great pride in how clean the Motel is inside and out. They are very nice people who are always around the grounds. We were able to access several beaches, state parks, restaurants, attractions and Portland within minutes. We were on a Motorcycle and this location was Ideal for us as it was off the Road and easy to get in and out from. We will for sure book here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have stayed at the Admiral a number of times over a few years. It is indeed a bit older, not fancy AND it is the price and the Very nice owners are what keep me coming back. They are located right next to Anjohn's restaurant which means they are just down the road from Pine Point public beach and Portland is maybe 20 minutes away. I basically spend my days either at the beach or in Portland so I wouldn't want to be spending a whole bunch of money for a room I basically just sleep in. If you are looking for a low cost, clean, quiet, decently located motel, the Admiral is just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsonsfield
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights to take a little staycation away from home. Checked in around 5pm - had to ring the bell to get into office as the family who runs it actually lives in the attached house. Was in the room in minutes - Was given a room with 2 doubles rather than the queen I had booked. That was fine since I was alone. Room was VERY clean, beds comfy with good pillows. Small tube TV, microwave & refrigerator. Bathroom very clean as well with tub/shower combination. At checkin there were no air conditioners in any rooms - the weather for the next day was to be sweltering heat & humidity. I questioned the front desk & they told me that they were putting the AC in that day. When I arrived back from my day they were there. Thank you for the AC!! The place is older but they have really maintained the overall condition of the place. Rooms are spotless, management was available when needed but it was very quiet overall. The location is right on the marsh in Scarborough with nice, peaceful views. I would definitely stay here again when I am on a budget and don't feel the need to have an immense amount of amenities. For what I needed, this place was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We had not planned to stop for the night yet but a terrible rain storm brought us in off the interstate to find shelter. The name brand chain hotel down the street was taking advantage of travelers pulling off the road to seek shelter...a room that normally would rent for around $100.00 a night was quoted with a AAA discount at $205.00 for the night...we said "no way" and headed down the street to this "mom and pop motel". We were quoted a price of $70.00 for the night and took it. I was soaking wet from running in and out of the other hotel and we were happy to have a shelter for the night. To our delight the room was spotless...fresh paint on the walls, very clean crisp sheets and plenty of good towels. For a older motor inn this property has been restored and was very nice for the price. We were also very pleased with the service we received from the man at the desk. He bent over backwards to accomodate us and help me get on his wireless internet...I never could get a strong enough signal from room six but I certainly appreciated his interest in helping me. In the morning as we were packing the car he came out and told us he had coffee made. I was impressed with the fact that during the rain storm the owner was out bringing his hanging flower baskets down to get a good watering from mother nature...it showed real pride in ownership! I would stay there again over the chain down the street at more than double the price. The mom and pop motels in Maine are very clean and nice and most have been restored to their original glory.

  • Liked — very good price, very clean, excellent customer service, pride in ownership
  • Disliked — get internet to all the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Motel

Address: 549 U.S. Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Admiral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral Motel Maine/Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Admiral Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.