We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   329 U S Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I selected this hotel for it's proximity to downtown Portland. It is very easy and quick to get to the Portland waterfront- ten to fifteen minutes by car. What was striking about the hotel was , how quiet it was. I loved the peace and quiet. The concierge cocurred that it was quiet and they had been pretty fully booked.Also that it was typically fairly quiet there. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    32
    16
    27
See reviews for
55
35
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great hotel refered to us by another hotel chain when we couldn't get a room due to long weekend demand.

I only have one complaint, I wanted to pay cash and they don't take American Express travelers cheques. I didn't want to use my credit card for safety reasons and they were scammed by someone using travellers cheques. I ended up using all my cash on hand but can't blame the hotel for that.

Will use the hotel again if in the area and make reservations if travelling on holiday weekends from now on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel was one of my favorites. It was a nice winter stay. It snowed at the time and it looked so pretty. The hotel staff was friendly and over accomadating . This hotel was very clean and my room was nice. We had a great time

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Made last minute reservation for this location due to lack of available hotels in Portland. We reserved a "suite", which is a bit larger but not really a full "suite" with a separate bedroom. Check in was effecient. Room was reasonably clean and everything worked. No complaints!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We should of known from the time we called the hotel to make the reseveration. They were rude and obnoxious, and it continued when we showed up. We just gave up trying to be nice and went to our room for a good nights sleep. The bed were comfy but that is where the fun ended. When we woke up to go to breakfast the room was completely full!! We had to stand in line like cattle to get our food for 20 min then the food was so horrible, we threw it away instead. The coffee was see through, the syrup was, for a lack of a better word, rotten, the eggs and sausage were unsalvageable and everyone in the room was throwing their juice away because it was disgusting. We are not picky people at all, so this is huge coming from us. Then when we asked to get a late check out so we could go buy breakfast they refused us. We have been Choice Hotel members for many years and have never been refused a late check out. Very frustrating. So all in all "Worst Stay Ever!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Last fall we stayed at this property and had no complaints. The room was clean, the service was friendly, and the breakfast was fine. We were so glad that we found a nice place in Portland on our first try and looked forward to our next visit. When we had the opportunity to stay overnight again in Portland we didn't have to search for our hotel, we simply called and booked our room.

We have 2 small children (ages 5 and 18 months), so cleanliness is incredibly important to us. When we arrived at the hotel at about 8:30pm after a long flight we were expecting a simple check-in. The person at the front desk was rude from the moment we began trying to check in. We gave him our confirmation number and he said that we had no reservation and asked if we were at the right hotel. It took nearly 20 minutes of searching for him to find our reservation and it turned out that the person that took the reservation had misspelled our last name (but all of our other information matched the reservation...). After finally arriving to our room we were ready to put the kids in the tub and go to bed. The bedspreads were both greasy and dirty and the shower curtain was very moldy. The room looked as though it hadn't been completely vacuumed in quite awhile. We were in a room that had 2 beds and all we were provided with were 2 towels and washcloths for the 4 of us. When we checked out the next morning, my husband discussed the experience with the manager and he was just slightly less rude than the man that checked us in. We will not be staying in or recommending this property again. It is sad for a property to only be a couple of years old and to go downhill so fast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We called for a room for one night as we had lost power in our campground and had a newborn and a four year old and it was 105 degrees outside. We arrived to our room with the air conditioning OFF and it read 90 degrees in the room. It took 4 hours to cool the room to even an acceptable range. I asked the desk for help with the fan that would only run on low and he said he could not fix it and had no one else that could. The light on the table beside the bed did not work and neither did the phone, he never came to fix that either. He was rude and not at all concerned about our situation. I will never stay at this hotel again. On the other hand, the room was clean and well appointed so it is unfortunate that the front desk employees are not customer driven. They would not accept my AAA card and mentioned that they didn't have to because they were "full" that evening....??? Cross this one off your list.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 329 U S Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking BRAND NEW Comfort Inn & Suites hotel is conveniently located off Route 1, just five miles from Portland International Jetport. Old Orchard Beach, Higgins Beach, Pine Point Beach, Scarborough Beach State Park and the University of Southern Maine are all just minutes away from this Scarborough, ME hotel. Guests of this Scarborough, ME hotel are invited to enjoy amenities and features like: * Free deluxe continental breakfast * Free wireless high-speed Internet access * Free local calls * Indoor heated pool * Exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scarborough
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Maine/Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.