We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Southborough Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our first trip to Portland, Maine, and we selected this hotel. We like Homewood Suites, as we like to do our own cooking and are comfortable with their layout and amenities. This location proved to be very convenient for us to use as a base for sightseeing. Also close to supermarkets, etc. The hotel is clean and quiet. We had a one bedroom suite. Used the exercise room frequently (on first day one of the treadmills was broken; we reported it to front desk and it was fixed immediately).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello travelqueen3317,
We are so pleased that you found our location perfect for your getaway and thanks so much for writing such a nice review about us on TripAdvisor. I hope you choose us again when in our neighborhood!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    70
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
114
100
12
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is just what you'd expect from a Homewood except for the heat/ac in the room. Clean, quiet hotel a few miles from the airport. Very friendly staff, great breakfast. The room I had was a 2 room suite with separate controls for the heat/ac in each room. They didn't have an option to set to heat or AC, it was either automatic or off. Everyday I left the thermostat at 72 when I left and when I came back is was over 80 in the room. The system had to be reset to cool it down. Other than that, great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello theskycop!
Thanks for the nice review you wrote on TripAdvisor about your visit to our Homewood. And thanks for your comments about our Heat & Air Conditioining; and you're right, they can be a little tricky! I am pleased you were able to cool your suite down and enjoy your stay. Come back again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a fairly new Homewood Suites and one that we would stay at again, and I'm a hotel snob. It is easily accessed off I-95. The rooms are very clean and ours was spacious. We had a refrigerator, microwave, stovetop and sink in the room (none of which we used). There is a nice supper in the evenings and an equally nice breakfast in the mornings. The public areas are very pleasant and well appointed. Nothing to complain about. Gets 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi GB4469,
What a compliment you gave us with that wonderful vote of confidence in our Homewood! Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully, you'll come back again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Right from the start we were greeted by Kim who made us feel like she was welcoming us into her home! Friendly staff and extremely clean hotel! Nice touches all the way around including the breakfast and light dinner! So glad we chose this hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Gemkmm,
You are so great to have written such a nice review about our hotel, and I appreciate the kind comments about our friendly staff. I will be sure to share them with the Homewood Team during our next Homewood Huddle! Come back soon!!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a suite and it was very cozy and comfortable because of the lay out of the suite and the furnishings. We truly felt like we were in a little cottage. In case this is confusing, sometimes in suites with kitchenettes, everything is in one big room. At the Homewood Suites in Scarborough, the kitchenette was immediately to the right when you entered. The living room was straight ahead and the bedroom was off to the right of the living room. The shower/tub and toilet were in a separate room and the sink/vanity area was pretty. The air conditioning worked well in both rooms and the king bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a typical free breakfast (waffles, cereal, eggs, sausage, bacon, etc.) but it was good and filling. One of the nicest things we experienced was that someone from the hotel called the first night to check that everything was in order in our suite and to see if we needed anything else. We really appreciated that.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good because, unlike other hotels, the doors appear air tight to the corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi ToriBarry,
What a nice review you posted on TripAdvisor about your recent visit to our hotel, thank you so much! I am so pleased that you were so comfortable in our spacious suites. We take pride in caring for our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed the courtesy call that we made to your suite to check in on you. We all hope to see you again!
Warmest regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed at the Homewood Suites 3 nights Sept. love the ammenities frig, kitchen, seperate living room. this is close to everything the maine mall, downtown portland. Nice indoor pool, business center & gym. I would stay here again in an instant!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 229 which is in the back and away from the elevator, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear BrennaBee,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Homewood and that the location was perfect for your trip. I hope you got a chance to swim in our beautiful indoor pool! Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and thanks for all the kind words! Come back any time!!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I wish there were more Homewood Suites around the country; the best value of any hotel we've stayed at! The room was very spacious, tastefully decorated, attractive bright fully stocked kitchen, everything very clean, two large windows for lots of light. It is close to large mall, grocery stores and restaurants. The lobby is warm and welcoming and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi BrettS,
Wow, what a great review you wrote about Homewood Suites brand of hotels! Thank you! We are glad you liked your stay here in Portland, Maine and please visit us again soon. There are more than 350 Homewood Suites hotels in US, Mexico, and Canada and our brand is growing. I hope you find one for your next trip!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Address: 200 Southborough Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our indoor pool and Jacuzzi will keep all children, young and old, entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Hotel Scarborough
Homewood Suites Scarborough
Portland Homewood Suites
Portland Hilton
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Maine/Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.