We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No matter where else we travel, THIS is the place we always return to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers Inn
Save
You added The Breakers Inn to your Saves list
2 Bay View Avenue, Higgins Beach, Scarborough, ME 04074   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No matter where else we travel, THIS is the place we always return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Last week marked my 31st year spending a perfect (no matter what the weather) summer week at The Breakers and Higgins Beach. I first brought my husband of 27 years when we were dating. My 24-year-old daughter spent her first week at The Breakers when she was one month old, and she promises that someday she'll bring her family. It's that kind of place. It's not fancy, but it's so comfortable. The ocean is crashing 100 feet away (at high tide) and is always a presence in scent, sight and sound. We think that there's no better view in Maine than from the Adirondack chairs on The Breakers' front lawn.

Technically this is a bed & breakfast but Rodney, our friend & Innkeeper (who we've known since he was in his 20's and his dad was the innkeeper) provides breakfast that could last you until dinner! Choices of juice & fruits, followed by cereals including old-fashioned oatmeal, then eggs any way you want, bacon (and he knows how I like it!), ham, pancakes and different home-made muffins every day. Did I mention that Rod makes his own preserves & jellies and bakes bread daily? But then there is lunch, with sandwiches available for purchase on that homemade bread, and Rod's lobster roll rivals the one at Two Lights ANY DAY as far as I'm concerned.

Every room has a view of the ocean. Knotty pine paneling on walls, you fill out your own registration card, towels may not be plush or big but they dry you just fine and there are fans in the rooms and extra pillows, and a TV in the room if you can tear yourself away from walking barefoot on the beach or your glass of wine on the front lawn (bring your own bottle and keep it in the community fridge in the basement). There are lots of dinner options from gourmet to lobster docks from Portland to Cape Elizabeth.

Though we normally go to The Breakers in the summer for a week, we've also added days here and there over the years in June, September & October. And two years ago, we started going for a mid-winter January or February few days which are magical, quiet & cold - icy beach walks, easy restaurant reservations, great shopping & museum exhibits.

In case I haven't been clear, this is one of the best places in the world. Go to The Breakers and let this place become magical for you, your sweetheart or your family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is the greatest B & B off the beaten path yet right on the ocean. Lovely rooms (I've stayed in most of them), the best food and service, and the kindest owners. This is my favorite place to which to escape.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness vented but ocean is across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Family owned and operated. Rodny and his staff make you feel right at home. We have been coming here for 20 years and have always enjoyed the food(breakfast), people, accommodations and the relaxed atmosphere. Make your reservations early for prime season, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Frustrated by staying at Highway Chains, i awoke one morning and drove to water. Found Higgins Beach-perhaps the most beautiful beach I have ever seen-and walked into this beachfront 120 year old property to discover one room had become available 15 mins earlier. The smallest worst room at the inn and we loved it. A grand old 14 bedroom all wood property (cash only) with home cooked breakfast, no restaurant, limited facilities, grand living room with wrap around enclosed veranda with spectacular views. Everyone there had been coming back for decades, family traditions, etc. We got an extra day, and it made our vacation. Like going to the big family beachhouse. Old and lived in feel-not Chain like!!! Yay!

Room Tip: go to their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I have a 6 month old daughter, and with her being our first child we decided we wanted to start a new family tradition of going to Maine every summer. Last summer, while still pregnant, we walked Higgins Beach and looked up at The Breakers Inn's tower and thought to ourselves "Wouldn't it be nice to stay there?".

Well, this year when it came time to book our summer getaway I contacted Rodney from The Breakers Inn. Rodney is the innkeeper and he is EXTREMELY easy to reach and deal with. I asked him if there were any dates available for The Tower Room and as luck would have it, the room was available for the weekend that worked perfectly with our schedule.

We arrived early at around 9:30 because we were checking in on a Saturday and we felt it would be better for our daughter to spend time on the beach rather than strapped into her car seat sitting in traffic. When we arrived, I did go inside to make sure it was alright with them if we parked in the parking lot even though we were not technically "checked in" yet. They were so sweet and said that would be fine, and that our room would be ready in 10 minutes if we wanted to head up to get changed for the beach.

First off, that pleasantly surprised me. Check in is at 12 anyway which is much earlier than the usual 3:00 check-ins other places have.

Once we got in our room we knew we made the right decision of staying here. All of the windows were open and the nice cool ocean breeze was a wonderful way to greet us.

This Tower Room ended up being perfect because we could hear, see and smell the ocean however we were still indoors so we didn't have to worry about the sun being too strong on our daughter's sensitive skin during the heat of the day. The constant breeze kept the room comfortable if not cool on the hot July days.

The sound of the ocean crashing on the rocks made for great sleeping. Even our 6 month old slept through the night!

I have stayed in other B&Bs and had the whole communal dining experience and I have to say that I much prefer how The Breakers Inn serves breakfast.

When we arrived to the dining area we sat at the table that was labeled with our last name and they even had a high chair waiting for us without us having to ask for one (so considerate!).

On the table is a menu and you can order as much or as little food for breakfast as you'd like. Fresh fruit, pancakes, and eggs with homemade muffins made our breakfast both days and both days we felt nice and full to last us until a late lunch / early dinner. So really we only had to buy 1 meal out each day.

We had such a lovely time, the people who work at the inn are a pleasure to deal with and so thoughtful and accommodating, and the room was amazing. My only complaint is that our getaway went by too fast and so I plan on rectifying that problem by staying for a full week next year - and if you stay the full week the rate is discounted, so why not?!

You cannot go wrong with The Breaker's Inn. I have no reason to "try out" the other area hotels and inns because this experience was affordable and superior.

Room Tip: Check out The Breakers Inn website, they have a diagram of the rooms so you get a feeling for how th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I live inland and try to get one night in every year at the Breakers during the shoulder season. We time our trip when there is swell to surf Higgin's beach, right in front of the Hotel. This works especially well to take advantage of morning and evening surf sessions as Higgin's is closed to surfing from 10-5. Friendly hosts, cozy rooms with a neat steep staircase up to them. Great breakfast and views from the dining hall also. We'll keep coming back.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here over the holiday break to visit family and friends in Maine. The Breakers Inn is the epitome of a bed and breakfast. Planted right on the coast of Higgin's Beach, the minute you step outside you are treated to the sounds and sights of the ocean. The calming sounds of waves crashing and birds soaring added to this delightful experience. In the morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast of champions, homemade oatmeal, eggs anyway we liked them, thick bacon, and a side of toast (among the many other items on the menu). The Innkeeper was very knowledgeable about local history and lore. The Breakers captures the essence of the seasons of Maine. The service was above excellent, all of our accommodations were met.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Inn

Address: 2 Bay View Avenue, Higgins Beach, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Scarborough
The Breakers Inn Maine/Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.