We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are expecting Diner, it is perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cockpit Cafe

Cockpit Cafe
199 Airport Rd, Sanford, ME 04073
(207) 324-7332
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Sanford
Restaurant details
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you are expecting Diner, it is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This little place at the tiny airport is a really terrific diner. Great breakfast, well prepared and generous in portion. Waitress was friendly and service was good. Lots of regulars, lots of talking , lots of good humor. Their homemade hash is excellent as well as the homemade biscuits and gravy. Prices are reasonable and it is an easy place to find right off the road into the airport.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I are visiting our son in Sanford. We read about this restaurant on line and decided to give it a try. Boy are we glad that we did! This is an incredible place. The food was great. The service was fast and friendly. There is a wait for tables but only because the line stretched out the door. People were willing to wait because its that good. We plan to eat here again a couple of times before we head back to Fort Worth, TX.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I’m not from the area. In fact i live in Germany and was looking for a place to take my grandmother to eat for brunch that she hadn’t been to yet. I searched on the internet and found this cafe had a 5 star rating... It was right!

Loved the service we got from Bobbie! We had a very good meal and enjoyed our time there. I highly recommend that if your in the area, to go enjoy a delicious huge meal for a very good price!

Thanks Bobbie! we enjoyed talking with you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weekly breakfast stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I have been going to the Cockpit Café for over 7 years now. It is our weekly breakfast outing and we have enjoyed every visit. We have come to know the staff and joke with them all the time. It is great fun to watch the small planes come and go while you eat. The food is always hot and delicious and you get a gigantic serving! Excellent value and it taste great too. The menu has weekly specials that would rival the most fancy restaurants, or you can stick to old standards that are equally as good. Super, highly recommended!
KG from Sanford

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food & prices are reasonable. The issue is that it is SO good there's ALWAYS a waiting line. You can see the planes land and take off. The Cafe is nicely painted and has military gear on the walls. Guys and boys would love this place, but I love it too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockpit Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cockpit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cockpit Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.