We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Industrial Park Road, Saco, ME 04072   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Saco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, United States
1 review
“Away from the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is away from the beach and dowtown but it is quiet, clean and still convenient to access all that the area has to offer. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and in excellent condition. Fair value for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    114
    31
    20
    12
See reviews for
134
121
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. We will be back again. Each evening heading back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing was the most comfortable bed one could imagine. Thank to all of the great staff for there welcoming personalities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn from August 18 to 23. This was the only summer vacation we had and we were planning to relax and rest. Unfortunately, we were not able to do that. The first three days went very well. The location of the hotel is ideal, the breakfast is good and plentiful, the room we had was beautiful and had been recently renovated and the staff is friendly for the most part. On the fourth day of our vacation, new neighbors (4 middle-aged adults) arrived next door. In all my life, I never experienced anything like this. I have heard noise in hotel rooms but this was totally insane. On the Wednesday, at 5 in the afternoon, they put their music so loud, we could barely hear each other talk in our room. We stopped by the front desk on our way to dinner and informed the lady of the situation. She apologized and made a phone call to the room. We came back around 9. No noise. At 9:30, they got back, put their music as loud as before and yelled like demented people. At 10:30, I called the front desk to tell them. The phone rang about 10 times and the person who answered was not very receptive; I was clearly bothering her. Nonetheless, she said she would call. This went on until midnight. I found out later that someone else had complained and an employee had come up to warn them. The noise stopped at midnight until 5 am the next morning (Thursday). We managed to sleep 4 hours that night. Not what I would call a restful vacation. The Thursday, we had to take a nap during the day to try to make up for the lack of sleep. That night, when we came back from dinner, no noise. We went to bed early since we were tired. A little before 2 in the morning, those wackos entered their room yelling at the top of their lungs, throwing things around, banging on the walls. It literally sounded as if they were demolishing their room. I called the front desk once more and they sent someone up. We were leaving to go home that morning and they were still there. Those people belonged in a zoo, not at a hotel. What I don’t understand is why the hotel allows individuals like that to stay and disturb the rest of their guests. I believe that after two warnings, they should be evicted. At the price we pay (almost $200 a night), we expect to at least have restful nights. It’s as if they value rude, low-class people more than respectful guests. Campgrounds have stricter rules for people disturbing the peace. I was not familiar with the Hampton Inn chain, but from that experience, I certainly won’t choose to stay at one of their establishments in the future. Unless the hotel changes its policy about extreme noise, I wouldn’t recommend to stay there, especially if you have young children. We left more tired than when we arrived and are extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had while staying at our hotel. we know our guests deserve the best in service and accommodations and we regret not having met your expectations. We will use your feedback as we continuously evolve to best impress our guests and we hope you will give us another opportunity to do so should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,

Robin J. Dimitrova
Front Office/Inside Sales Manager
Hampton Inn Saco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overnighted here after a day in the Saco/OOB area and coming in from Freeport. Rooms are outdated for sure but overall were clean and failry comfortable. Didn't try the pool (outdoor only though). Breakfast in the morning was typical. Overall it was a good place to stay on the way to North Conway, NH. If you like Japansese/Chinese head over to Koi restaurant. It was excellent. Stayed at a few Hamptons on this trip, they all seem to be a little dated/tired

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn in mid August for two nights. I booked on line in advance and paid in advance to ensure the best price possible. Old Orchard Beach is a pricey area to stay, so we opted to stay in Saco at the Hampton Inn. Check-in was fairly simple, but my requests were not honoured via the reservation website. I asked for a room on the highest floor and away from the elevator. I have a young family(twins) and I prefer to stay away from disruptions and noise in the hotel to ensure the children sleep well during the night. The front desk clerk gave me room on the second floor due to there was a grumpy "Diamond Hhonors" customer on the fifth floor. Apparently he was napping at 4 o'clock and front desk clerk was afraid that the customer in-question would complain if he saw my children on the same floor.
The rooms are clean but extremely outdated and in need of a major renovation. However the room was clean with all the standard amenities including a small fridge and microwave. I had a nice view of 48 foot storage containers in the back motor court. I hope that all those storage containers are for a future renovation....
Stay out of the pool! The pool was filthy and had flem(mucus) floating in the water. The water was cloudy and there was a lack of chlorine, intern it was a cesspool of bacteria.
The complimentary breakfast was your standard Hampton Inn breakfast. The breakfast area was very clean and well maintained, however the staff seemed less than happy and almost stressed. The hotel did offer a complimentary snack bag to-go at the front desk, this is a nice touch!
The location of this hotel is excellent, 5 minutes from Old Orchard Beach, 20 minutes from Portland, and 30 minutes from Freeport. This hotel could become a destination for families and people who want to vacation in the OOB area but they have a lot of work to do, to become that destination!
In closing this hotel has so much to offer in such a limited area but lets the customer down due to poor management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin D, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to share this candid feedback with us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we will be utilizing your feedback as we constantly evolve to best meet and exceed your expectations. I apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration you must be facing. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,

Robin Dimitrova
Front Office/Inside Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is by the highway and about 5 minutes drive from the beach. It is clean, with good service and good staff. I would recommend it for a family trip to Old Orchard Beach. The room was clean and the house keeping was perfect. We slept very well and had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Always enjoy our stays at Hampton Inn but they seem to have problems with there online reservation system which is very stressful on the staff. The breakfast was extremely busy and they ran out of sausage in the morning. Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford

Address: 48 Industrial Park Road, Saco, ME 04072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Saco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Saco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Saco-Old Orchard Beach Hotel Saco
Saco Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.