We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it summer already?? Can't wait to get back there this summer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

Wagon Wheel Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Save
You added Wagon Wheel Motel to your Saves list
726 Portland Road, Saco, ME 04072   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Saco
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is it summer already?? Can't wait to get back there this summer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Every OPENING Memorial Day day weekend we book our stay at the Wagon wheel motel. Their opening weekend is just as spectacular as the Labor Day weekend. Always clean, friendly staff, and awesome location. Five minutes from the beach and such adorable rooms! They are always clean and offering detailed changes to serve the customer's needs! Can't wait to go back with the whole family for pool side barbecues and nature trail walks that are adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brimfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights. For us it was all about location to our family at the campground across the way, which had no room for us on our requested dates . For this reason, Wagon Wheel was super convenient and economical.

The room was tiny and a little outdated but clean. The bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom. We moved the table and chair into the bathroom to make room for our son's pack n' play (as to avoid putting it in front of the window AC). The shower was temperamental temp-wise but had good water pressure. I was pleasantly surprised to have a microwave and a fridge (would have planned better with a newborn, but there is always next time). We also used the pool, which was sparkling and clean. Quaint little pool area!

The girl at the front desk was very sweet upon arrival. The cleaning person did a good job. The owner (or whom we believed to be the owner) was such a nice woman!

Happy to see the motel expanding, perhaps it will get a remodel? The space definitely could have been utilized better in the room itself. We probably could have been less cramped at some chain hotel but, again, it was about location for us, which was GREAT. We walked about 500 feet up and crossed the busy road over the foot bridge/trail that led us right to our family's campground. We would stay at the Wagon Wheel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern maine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wagon Wheel in Saco, Maine this past weekend. It was not our first time as guests at this motel. We found it to be spotless, friendly and very homey. The owners are great at making sure everyone is comfortable. It is very close to Old Orchard Beach area but without the high prices. We were in the area for my daughter's bachelorette party so our group also included 2 more rooms. All were perfect for us. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor right across from the pool. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I thought the motel was very "outdated" and it was average. The owner was delightful person. The price was "cheap" compared to many of the other we stay at. Not a lot of frills and thrills in the Wagon Wheel Motel.

Room Tip: Average describes it best to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

great motel,great people,great area.
we stayed at this motel for a family wedding and found everyone to be so helpful and friendly.
rooms were spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. if you are looking for a holiday at reasonable prices at a location away from the usual u s a holiday spots you will not be disappointed in saco, maine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Not fancy but clean and comfortable and it smelled clean. The price was 'cheap', the owner delightful and she told us about a good restaurant for breakfast. If you need high end this isn't the place for you but if you want a good value try the Wagon Wheel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, N.B. Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I enjoyed this motel as the price was fabulous compared to others in the same area. However, I would have preferred to have it a bit cleaner. I also enjoyed the owner as she loved to make you feel comfortable and enjoyed talking to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 726 Portland Road, Saco, ME 04072
Location: United States > Maine > Saco
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Saco
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Motel Saco, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagon Wheel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.