We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ultimate Maine experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muscongus Bay Lobster

Muscongus Bay Lobster
28 Landing Road, Round Pond, ME 04564
+1 207-529-5528
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Round Pond
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Eat local seafood on our spacious deck overlooking Round Pond Harbor. Causal outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. Open Mother's Day until Columbus Day, seven days a week.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“an ultimate Maine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Most harbors/harbor towns have a lobster coop, often preparing and serving seafood and fish just caught. Muscongus Bay and its fare are outstanding! We ate there about every other night for a week. The menu is mostly what is caught daily--lobster, crab, shrimp, scallops, oysters, haddock, etc. Pasta is also available with the foregoing. The sides are limited but adequate. We took various greens to accompany great shell fish options. We also took wine, as many do. Picnic tables are in covered areas or uncovered by the water and in the open.

This is a very casual and relaxing setting. About half the people there are first timers and trying to figure out the routine. Some take photos of their lobsters. That's just fine with all of us. The other half are summer people, regular Mainers, and tourist regulars. It's a great mix of people enjoying the Maine coast and what its waters have to offer. What a great summer!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    36
    9
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“BYOB~View~Fabulous lobster, crab and lobster rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is my husbands absolute favorite crab roll. The offer whole wheat bread also and they must fry it on the griddle, since it is nice and crispy with the 1/4 pound of crab or 1/4 pound of lobster if you rather have a lobster roll. The oysters are very good also, raw and local. I love their larger lobsters and I go for the hard shell one here when we go for dinner.. Bring a table cloth and wine or beer and just stare at the lovely cove. This is a low key, Maine experience that we enjoy so so much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family came here to celebrate my brother's 29th birthday. We brought extra food for myself and mother (which they encourage) because neither of us eat seafood. Lo and behold, they have expanded their menu with pasta options and a kid's menu, which was never there before! We ate what we brought but also got some pasta which we were pleased with. My brother got his twin lobster special which he loved. Attentive, happy people, gorgeous views, all around a wonderful day.
I love that they encourage you to bring extras. Most places would balk at that! Also excellent prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for lobster-- and a vegetarian daughter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

With beer and sides in hand we landed here for dinner, 13 years after our first visit. Now we brought two kids -- one who is a lobster fanatic at 9 yrs old; one who is vegetarian. We were able to make both happy with the lobster, steamers and corn AND the expanded menu that offered pasta for the non-lobster crowd. The fog settled in and cleared as we ate. We went later on a Sunday night, avoided the crowds. Cannot imagine a trip to this region without a meal here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lobster on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Everything thing served here is boiled - just so you know. The clams, lobster, and corn were deliciously sweet. We went late afternoon on a Sunday and walked right up to the counter - no waiting at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muscongus Bay Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Muscongus Bay Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muscongus Bay Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.