We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean rooms; convenient location; good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Schooner Bay Motor Inn to your Saves list
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
337 Commercial Street, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Large, clean rooms; convenient location; good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Schooner Bay Motor Inn is located on Route 1 in Rockport, very near Camden and about 5 miles from Rockland. It's not on water or walking distance from anything but if you are visiting Rockland and Camden, this is a perfect location.

Our room, for $150 per night (which is their most expensive rate; we booked late and nothing else was left for our mid-August weekend visit), had two queen beds, a table with two chairs by the large window, a place to hang clothes, a large bureau with a mirror over it, a couple of comfy chairs, and a nightable in the main room, plus a counter with sink, ice bucket and cups, a small refrigerator (but no microwave or in-room coffee service), and large mirror outside the actual bathroom, which held the toilet and a tub with shower. Very spacious and roomy for a motor inn..

Everything was clean. The plumbing worked perfectly. The beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows. There are many accessories provided: shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shoe-cleaning cloth, facial cleaning cloth, and hand soap, plus a hair dryer. The air conditioner worked and was quiet. Ice is located in a locked room (your key opens it) near the motel rooms, and the motel office and breakfast area are about 100 yards up the hill (driveable if you can't walk it), over a small bridge and past an inviting shady seating area with Adirondack chairs.

We knew we would arrive after the office closes at 10 p.m. so we let the owners know and they left our key in a prearranged place so we didn't have to rush.

The continental breakfast provided (included in room charge) consisted, in August, of several kinds of cold cereal, thawed frozen blueberries, bananas, fruit cocktail, English muffins, bagels, mini danishes, lemon-poppyseed bread, juices, coffee and tea. Unfortunately, the morning news/talk shows were on the TV in the breakfast room, which is the last thing I want to hear on vacation (or ever).

There is free wi-fi but the signal was not quite strong enough in our room.

In all, a comfortable, relatively inexpensive, and relaxing two-night stay in a central spot, convenient to the area's tourist destinations.

Room Tip: Half the rooms are top floor (up outside stairs, which can be a bit slippery when wet) and half are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
29
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Schooner Bay Motor Inn is a clean, attractive non-chain inexpensive motel. Gripes are minimal: foam pillows, no HBO- like that. I don't think they have a pool. Clean, well-maintained, hospitable and strongly recommended for a budget stay in the Thomaston<>Lincolnville area.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor may be a bit quieter overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have been staying at the Schooner Bay Motor Inn for years and I have never been disappointed.
They are conveniently located right next to Camden Maine and not far from Rockport harbor. The accommodations are basic but clean and quite. I always have a very comfortable stay when I am here. They also provide a very nice continental breakfast with muffins, fruit and more. They also have free wifi. The new owners are very friendly and can answer questions about local attractions. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I are currently enjoying our stay here. This is a wonderful place with a great location, a close walk to the Rockport Harbor and a short drive to the Camden or Rockland Harbors. It is very clean and cozy. The owner is very friendly, accommodating and lives on the premises. A continental breakfast of fresh fruit, including strawberries, fresh breads, muffins and cereal is provided along with coffee and juice. Don't miss out on this gem that is also a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are so happy you are staying with us here at Schooner Bay this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and my wife stayed there one night, wonderful place, the owner is very nice, the room is clean and smells good, free continental breakfast was included.
recently renovated, close to Camden and the price is fair. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
286 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed one night but it was great. We had room #101 which faced the street. It had two windows that you could open and get some fresh air. Even though it faced the street we did not hear much traffic noise. The room reminded us of a small apartment. Nice and clean. Front desk was friendly. They have a small breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the great pictures. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We would highly recommend the Schooner Bay Motor Inn. It's probably the cleanest place we've ever stayed -- as well as smoke-free and pet-free. The thick, thirsty towels were welcome, and the decor was very nice, color-coordinated, and homey. The room was quiet, no noise leaking from other rooms. We were happy to have a separate recycle basket as well as the waste baskets.

All amenities were in good working order: Wi-Fi, cable, heat, hot water, toilets, hair-dryer, outlets, fridge, bathroom/shower fan; and the housekeeper thoroughly cleaned the room and replaced supplies each day. The Wi-Fi worked well, and we were able to read the news, check email, and listen to internet radio without interruption.

We can't comment on the complimentary breakfast. Since we opted for one of the large rooms which came with a mini-fridge, we brought our own cold food and drinks for breakfast and snacks.

We stayed for 8 nights using Rockport as our base for sight-seeing up and down the mid-coast and would be happy to stay at the Schooner Bay again. This is a great motel!

Room Tip: Large 2nd floor end rooms offer the most privacy as the windows overlook the grounds, and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#1 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.5 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glen Cove Inn & Suites
Glen Cove Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Address: 337 Commercial Street, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Inn that caters to our quest needs by providing legendary customers service. Full day trip itinerary planning by the owner (who has lived here there full life). Rooms are small but very quaint and immaculately clean. We will start your day off with a home continental breakfast which includes fresh quiche, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. We are conveniently located in mid coast Maine 3 miles north of Rockland and 2 miles south of Camden at the head of the bay in Rockport Harbor home of Andrea the seal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Bay Hotel
Schooner Bay Motor Inn Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Bay Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.