We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Island View Inn to your Saves list
Island View Inn
904 Commercial St., Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Being from Arizona we were looking for a place with a view of the water. We found it here at the Inn. First Class property and would recommend highly. The rooms are fantastic-good size and outstanding decor. The bathroom was ideal with plenty of counter space. The private balcony is ideal for cocktails with a view.
The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. We thought the cost of the room was a bargain for what it offered. The entire property is manicured for your enjoyment.
Hopefully we will get back some day.

Tom and Jane, Sun City West, Arizona

Actually we hated to leave.

  • Liked — AMBIANCE
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    20
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
128
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Great find on the Maine coast. Rooms were immaculate. Staff was friendly. Grounds and view were fantastic. Rooms came with binoculars to watch the sailboats go by. Hidden pool area was quiet and amazing with an infinity view of the water and a waterfall into the heated water. Above average coast for area, but worth it. Will go back.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

This is not your run of the mill cookie cutter hotel. All of the rooms our tastefully decorated like a magazine. A couple of the rooms have fireplaces and all had a beautiful view of the water.
All of the rooms have binoculars in them we even saw a fox.The only negative thing I can say is the beds our kind of hard. It is a short drive to Camden(a very scenic seaside town) Make sure you eat breakfast at the Mariner restaurant great deal and great blueberry pancakes. Room 107 is the best.

  • Liked — The rooms were tastefully decorated
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

When you book a place sight unseen there is always some concern about just what you'll be getting. Have no fear; the Island View Inn scores big on all fronts. It's a small, family run operation with only about 14 units, each with its own spectacular view of a lovely cove. We watched the sun come up on a spacious balcony that offered plenty of room to stretch. We bought lunch at the Three Dog Deli up Route 1 and enjoyed it just steps from the cove relaxing in Adirondack chairs under a wide umbrella. In the afternoon we hit the heated, infinity-edged swimming pool and had it all to ourselves. The rooms are brightly painted, spacious and feature king beds and coffee in the morning topped off our stay.
The Island View Inn is only about four years old and is extremely clean and well cared for. It's obvious the owner takes pride in his property.
It was our first trip to the Rockport-Camden area, but it won't be our last. We look forward to our next stay at the Island View Inn.

  • Liked — Pool, view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights the end of September and loved it. The whole property was clean and made us think it was brand new. The views were exceptional, and the walkway to the chairs by the water made it special. We enjoyed our large balcony even when it rained a bit- it was all very private and relaxing. Great location near many things to see including a great fall foliage drive. We would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

The room we stayed in looked new, never used. It smelled fresh and the bedding was soft and snuggly. The bathroom was spotless, the cleanest we've ever seen. The view of the water was great. They had binoculars (nice ones) in the room to use to watch the sailboats go by. The balcony was very private. This was a great experience!! We loved it.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

We flew to Maine on the spur of the moment without a reservation to get away from the heat for a few days. We looked at half a dozen properties (believe it or not, they all had vacancies) and were very happy to find this one. It's fairly new, with very well-maintained grounds and a heated pool. Our room was decorated like something out of House and Garden in a nautical theme with a cathedral ceiling and multi-colored walls. The bed was a 4 poster with a quilt and the bathroom was quite large. There was a balcony with a beautiful view of a small bay - in fact, the first night, we went to the store and got some provisions and stayed right there, enjoying the scenery and serenity. There's a small refrigerator, which was convenient for keeping a few things. The owner and front desk personnel were very helpful in providing directions and other information. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — Decorative Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Idlesboro Island
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Address: 904 Commercial St., Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#5 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.