We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How beautiful and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
886 Commercial Street, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manassas,VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“How beautiful and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Was well maintained from the outside...rooms are lavishly decorated down to a little rubber duckie in your bathroom. What a view and rooms are exceptionally clean. Even had the nicest lady on the front desk who I enjoyed chatting with so much. Highly recommend this hotel and we will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    33
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
119
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

This motel is spotless and comfortable, with beautiful landscaping. There are beautiful flowers on the grounds. The beautiful pool is out back and surrounded by lush green grass and flowers. A short walk past the pool takes you down to the ocean shore, where there are tables and chairs to sit in and enjoy the view. Off to the left is a beautiful mountain. The view from our 3rd floor balcony was wonderful. I wished I could have stayed there for days. The service was first rate. They even have a "famous" motel cat that has a book written about it - "The Strawberry Hill Cat." This is a great place to stop for a night or stay for a few days and relax. They also have free WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Friends of mine that was visiting from Canada stayed at this Inn for the weekned. I went over to pick them up and was truly amazed how beautiful their room was as well as the Inn's property.

The landscaping is beautiful and exceptionally maintained. They have a heated inground pool that has a view of the cove and nice landscaping surrounding it. You can walk down to the water and there are chairs/umbrellas if you would like to sit there for a while and relax.

The room was nicely decorated. King size bed with two wicker chairs, another chair with a table, small refrigerator, binoculars, TV, balcony overlooking the cove and very cozy. The end tables on each side of the bed had a bird house design on it and beautifully painted. Their room was located mid-level which had a balcony so you have a view of the pool/cove. The sink is separated from the bathroom so if you are trying to get done in the morning you won't be hogging up the bathroom. They were extremely happy with the room, service, location, view, etc. If I was visiting ME again I would definitely stay here.

Listed below is the link to the motel.
http://www.strawberryhillinn.com

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and I are planning a trip to Maine this summer. We were so excited to find Strawberry Hill and our travel agent booked us a room there for one night so we could enjoy Lobsterfest 2009. A week after our reservations were confirmed, our travel agent received a FAX stating that they made a mistake in confirming our room for one night. The fax stated that they had a minimum 3 night stay during Lobsterfest (which was nowhere on their website or other information). We were informed that they were CANCELLING the reservation and CONFIRMATION of our stay.

I understand that they have policies for a reason, but they confirmed our reservation so they should honor it. Now we are scrambling to find another place on the water for that one night. Because this place refused to honor their committment to their customers, I am assuming they have poor service all around. What an inconsiderate and unprofessional thing to do. No apology was offered and they couldn't even pick up the phone to inform us of the problem. This situation is just ridiculous and I can't believe this place can stay in business with such poor standards of customer service. We are happy to take our busness elsewhere and hope others do too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danarockportmaine, owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2009
This reservation was booked through a third party
booking engine and they failed to recognize our
three day policy during the Lobster Festival. We are
required to go back through the booking engine to
correct any problems and not go directly to the customer. We never had any direct contact with
the customer because the only phone number provided to us was to the travel agent. This correction
was done SIX months in advance of the reservation.
If the customer had contacted us directly we would
have worked something out but we never heard from
the directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Stayed here in June for 3 nights, and again in September of 2008. Very enjoyable stays.
We found it to be well run with very clean and nicely decorated rooms. The landscaping throughout the property was extremely well designed and maintained. There is no doubt that each time we travel to this area, which is once or twice a year, we will be staying at this motel.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanlyness, views, location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

This was out first stay at this Inn. When we visit this area we normally stay next door at Glenn Cove, but on our last stay we found our room was not up to the usual standards.

We were in Rockport for Camden's Windjammer Weekend and were very pleased with the Strawberry Hill accommodations. It is only about 6 miles to Camden.

Our room was big, clean with no evidence of that motel/hotel mildew/damp type smell found in many places. We left our sliding door open all night to enjoy the fresh air.

All rooms have a balcony or patio with a view. We had a balcony and could see all the way to the offshore islands. Near the cove are adirondack chairs and umbrellas. There are kayaks to use.

The grounds are meticulously kept with flowers everywhere. The staff were all friendly and our check-in was easy and quick.

Oh yea.... they have a very friendly cat who must be the real owner, because it seems to be comfortable walking the grounds, lounging anywhere it pleases and welcomes a guest's attention.

  • Liked — View, size of room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Found nothing wrong.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We returned to the lovely Camdem area for our 35th Anniversary. I chose Strawberry Hill Inn from the reviews on this site and they were right. Beautiful Inn, great view , manicured landscaping . Nicely decorated and clean room. We were very happy with our choice till we asked some help at the desk. Our cell phone did not work and their phone system did not allow us to make a phone call with our credit card. We asked the lady at the desk if I could make a direct long distance (that I would pay)to call to my brother in law who live 1 hour away and wanted to visit us later that same day. I just wanted to give him the phone # where we stayed and he would call us back in our room . The lady said she could not do that. My husband had to go back in town and find a payphone to call his brother . We stayed at other hotel in the past where our cell phone did not work and they let us make a long distance that we paid for after.

When My brother in law arrived at the Inn, with his son we were not back from dinner. They asked if we were there and ask if they could wait for us. They just wanted to visit for a short while and go back home after. The lady told them they could not stay .The owner did not want them to stay on his private property and threw them out because they were not key holder. My brother in law and his son had to go wait for us across the road and were not allowed to visit with us in our room. That ruined our stay and we will not go back there.
We just came back today from a stay at the Beachmere Inn in Ogunquit for the 4th year in a row. I had a friend who came visit me for the day and we had relative in the past who visited us and the staff and management were always welcoming with the visitors and gave them pass to spend the day.. That is why we were very shocked of the owner's attitude at the Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn.

  • Liked — The lovely room
  • Disliked — The management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danarockportmaine, owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2008
First, we have a direct dial phone system that requires a credit card or calling card to use the system for long distance calls. Calls can not be charged to the room bill. We had no control over the
cell phone not working in our area.
Secondly, our number one priority is customer security. This customer did not let the front desk know that they were expecting a guest while they were
out to dinner. Two men showed up at the front desk
and wanted to know the room number of this customer. We said we would call the room but we
could not give out their room number. We did call
the room and no one answered. The men then demanded a key to the customers room and wait for
their return. When the front desk clerk refused to give them a key they became irate and verbally abusive to her. I immediately came to the desk and tried to explain that we could not let strangers
into people's rooms without prior notification. They
continued to be abusive so we asked them to leave the property. Again our number one priority
is a safe location for our paying guests and we will not allow strangers to just show up and demand access to anybody's room. We will not change this policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Address: 886 Commercial Street, Rockport, ME 04856
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.