We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
886 Commercial Street, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the second time while in the area for business. The views from the rooms are spectacular and the area is a hidden treasure to visit. The inn is owned by a family(I think). I recommend not arriving in the evening as the (grandmother) is working the front desk at this point and it takes quite a bit of time to checkin. My only other complaint would be the front desk is not occupied very late so if you have any issues (locked yourself out) you have to call several #s posted on the door. I do give the staff credit when I did call they were there within 5 minutes to let me in. There is no breakfast, only coffee, and the supplied cups are very small, bring your own. They have a heated pool and you can walk down to the water from the inn. I really recommend this over some of the other options in the area. Price is great and it has 5 star views. The rooms are very clean, beds aren't the greatest, but again you can't beat the view you wake up to from it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    33
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
119
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights during Labor Day weekend. The Inn itself is immaculate, but the gardens and lawns made our stay wonderful. It was so nice to be able to walk around the property and look at the garden beds and the wildflowers. When it was time to leave I wished that I had spent more time down at the beach area. The bed was very comfortable, and overall it was quiet even though it seemed like they were full. The pool was warm and clean. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent quite a bit of time pouring over reviews on Trip Advisor to find the right place for a couple of nights in the Camden area. The reviews and photos of Strawberry Hill, plus the very reasonable pricing, kept pulling me back. We found it to be a perfect place for our visit to the area. What no one has mentioned, is how "bird friendly" the property is, and since I am a birder, that was an added bonus. The unmowed area filled with wildflowers attracts many birds, and their full birdfeeders attracts even more birds. Rooms are supplied with binoculars for birding, and viewing boats going by.

The rooms are very comfortable, and decorated in a seaside theme, and feels like staying in a private condo, rather than a fairly large inn. Our room, Room 111, was perfect for us, since my husband was not able to do a lot of walking, or toting bags up or down stairs. Our room was on the parking lot level, and was on the second floor of the unit. We enjoyed our balcony and view.

The location is extremely convenient for exploring the Rockland, Rockport, Camden area. We will recommend this inn to all of our friends. We spent most of our days on the go, but would have loved to have spent another couple of days relaxing on the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasthington State
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Strawberry Hill. The view from our second floor room of the bay and property down to the water was outstanding. The landscaping was impeccable and we loved all the colors and varieties of flowers. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed the little deck off from it with chairs and a table. The pool was lovely - we had it to ourselves and the surrounding gardens made it even more special. We enjoyed the chairs down near the beach one morning with our coffee and donuts from a local bakery. Wish we could have had a few more days there....
There isn't a breakfast offered - just coffee and tea - but there are many options in the nearby towns. Would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor! Better view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel has absolutely beautiful grounds and a stunning view of a cove.The rooms are very well decorated. I stayed 5 days and had the cooperation of excellent weather, sunny and low humidity. The view of the cove is enhanced by the binoculars that are in every room. While I was there a couple of schooners anchored overnight, The staff was very friendly and helpful, I was able to use their computer to resolve a problem with my return flight. They have free coffee in the morning. I enjoyed drinking it while sitting in a chair on the terrace looking at the cove.
They have no restaurants on the site, but within a few minutes drive there are several.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Mountain Falls, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place was the nicest, most relaxing hotel that I have ever stayed and I have stayed at a lot of hotels. The decor and landscaping is beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was immaculate! It was raining the next morngin and the view of the fog over the water was breathtaking. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Choose a king room, it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Comfortable, clean, but the best thing are the views. Stayed at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn on a trip north to Canada. The room was quiet, clean, with a very comfortable bed. This is the sister place of the Island View where I usually stay and the quality is about the same. This is a very consistently beautiful, comfortable, affordable choice for Rockport. The hotel has a heated pool with a view of the bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Address: 886 Commercial Street, Rockport, ME 04856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.