We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and very enjoyable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ledges By the Bay to your Saves list
Ledges By the Bay
930 Commercial Street, Rockport, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value and very enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at The Ledges for three nights in June, still another return visit. The breakfast room, which we loved before, has been enlarged beautifully, and the home-baked muffins and breakfast breads are better than ever (thank you!). Having the large bottled creamers made us feel at home, and we really enjoyed it. Our room was spotless, and when I needed something extra, the staff was right there, making me feel that pleasing me was all that mattered. The mark of a much more expensive hotel! We will come back again next year, for all the same reasons, knowing that we can count on The Ledges to do all they can to make us feel welcome. We aren't even interested in looking somewhere else...

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the main building, lower floors.... all excellent, views excellent, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    267
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
189
512
55
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the Ledges By the Bay while visiting Maine. It was the most amazing experience! The place was Gorgeous! The view of the Bay was AMAZING!!!! Andy at the front desk was just GREAT!!!! She made sure we had everything we needed from day 1!!!!! Mrs. Barbara made the BEST cakes and pastries!!!! She even saved a special piece of cake after our morning runs. I was very pleased!!!! We will definatly be visiting the Ledges by the Bay again!!!!

Room Tip: Request the ocean view....so well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful visit to Maine, and our stay at Ledges By the Bay added to that entire experience. It was just the place to return to after tooling around in the nearby towns of Camden, Rockland, and Lincolnville. The view of the cove from our balcony, the delightful continental breakfasts which included homemade goodies, and the pleasant staff made this trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville nh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Andi at the front desk was extremely helpful with information about the area and came to the rescue when our batteries in our TV remote died.

Huge sliders to the deck provided an exceptional view and made the room feel bigger than it was.

The only negative was the room could have used room darkening shades. The bay is beautiful at sunrise but that's a bit early.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 are smaller but have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This bayside motor lodge was a great base camp for a quick two night trip to the main coast. Check-in / check out was easy, staff was helpful, beds were comfortable and view from the balcony was superb. The lodge has no food service, but options are available within a few minutes drive. A good choice if you plan to spend most of your time touring / away from hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice place. Very clean room, quiet and a great view. Also has a firepit available & Adirondack chairs with the view.. K Cup brewers in room and a nice continental breakfast. Very close to Rockland [North end of town]

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Highly recommend the Ledges. We had a room with a queen bed, a fireplace and sliding glass doors onto the deck overlooking all of Glen Cove! Wonderful quiet location halfway between Camden and Rockland. The room was clean and comfortable and they provided a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Have stayed here before and will stay again the next time we visit Midcoast Maine, one of our very favorite areas of the State.

Room Tip: Rooms10-14 have no rooms above them. Most, if not all, rooms have a deck overlooking the Cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial Street, Rockport, Rockport, ME 04856
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ledges By the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.