We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Save Saved
You added Ledges By the Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
930 Commercial Street, Rockport, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute $119 Special
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Rockport
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
“First Time Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved it. Quiet, clean, efficient, nice folks, great view, convenient to shops restaurants and activities in both Rockland and Rockport/Camden. Since we were on a motorcycle, it would have been better if there had been a restaurant on the premises, but we found many good ones in Rockland just ten minutes away, so no matter (Archers, Rustica, Black Compass Cafe, and the Atlantic Baking Company were our favorites). We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    232
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
153
448
49
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield NH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights this month in a Superior King room. Private balcony to enjoy the views of the bay-ask for the 2nd floor. The room was very good size and comfortable. It was nice having a second sink out of the bathroom area. Our room had a gas fireplace which I'm sure would be a nice addition in cooler weather. As other reviewers have mentioned, check in was very quick and the the lady who checked us in was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Provided us with a map and several suggestions on things to do in the area. The grounds are lovely with many places to sit and enjoy the views. The pool is great-comfortable and plentiful loungers and tables with umbrellas. Big pool towels are available from the office. We ate breakfast twice at the hotel--the blueberry scones are a must! Also homemade blueberry muffins. The hotel is close to both Rockland and Camden. Very easy drive to both places. Specials are available through their Facebook page. I had already made our reservation when I saw that and contacted them to see if I could get the discount-no problem. Got an email confirmation within minutes. My only suggestion would be to have a microwave in addition to the frig.

Room Tip: Second floor for great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ledges by the Bay is the perfect base for visiting the Camden / Rockland area. We stayed in a Superior King Room and could not have been more satisfied with our choice. The accommodations are spotless and very affordable for the area.

Some tips that we can pass on that will help reassure you:
- Check in/out is a breeze. Upon arrival take a minute to chat with the lovely woman at the front desk who will provide you with an easy to use map of the area. All of her suggestions were perfect for us and definitly helped make our trip memorable.
- There is a taxi service in the area for those who do not want to have to take the car into town. 7$ one way into either Rockland or Rockport and 15$ cab into Camden ( although we did not have any trouble finding parking in either town, we always appreciate having the option to take a cab to dinner if we will be enjoying a bottle of wine or a few beers.) the drive into camden is about 12 minutes and Rockland is a short 5-7 minute drive.
- There is a breakfast included at Ledges that was perfect for us every morning. Bagels, englsh muffins, fruit, yogurt, and delicious homemade scones and muffins. (7am-10am I think)
- There are 3 golf courses in the immediate vicinity: Samoset Resort which is a beautiful course with breathtaking seaviews... A bit pricey, but a must-play for the avid golfer. GooseRiver which we also played 9 holes at, and Rockland which we did not get a chance to play, but which is quite close to the hotel as well.
- There is a Shaw's grocery store within 1 mile of the hotel as well as a Walmart and a big TJMaxx. I was able to walk to these from the hotel one beautiful morning while my boyfriend played golf @ Samoset.

Must eats in the area:
- Dinner @ Miller's Lobster Pier: delishhhh, affordable, authentic.
- Dinner @ Waterfront Restaurant in Camden: lovely patio, great food
- Dinner @ Rustica in Rockland: center of town, great service
- Lunch @ Archers in Rockland: beautiful patio on a sunny afternoon, great lunch menu

Must do's in the area:
- Sailing!! We HIGHLY recommend Buffelhead and her Capt.Bennett: beautiful sailboat, safe, comfortable, intimate (6ppl max) and best prices.
- Visit the Forrest Gump lighthouse in Port Clyde
- Stroll Rockland and Camden, such cute towns.
- Play 18 @ Samoset
- Hang out by the pool at Ledges. Beautiful view, comfortable pool recliners, and the pool is big & heated.

If you have any questions about our stay, just let me know! :)

Room Tip: All rooms have great view of the Bay! Only difference between Deluxe and Superior is deluxe have fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here last year, just outside of Rockland. I hate Camden, it's too tourist focused, and has been overrun by out of town people from Boston and NYC boating clubs, ruining the local culture. I grew up in Maine (Bangor area), and do everything to avoid Freeport, Camden, and Bar Harbor.

I placed the reservation 6 weeks in advance, knowing that this is the busy season, and would need to get in early. Anyone who doesn't do this is an idiot, and deserves whatever headaches they get. I knew I would be coming in late the first night, far after the night time check in time, so I called ahead 2 days beforehand to setup alternate accommodations. Basically they leave an envelope outside the front-desk office with your name on it, and your room key.

We pulled in on Friday around midnight, having spent the evening with friends in Portland. We couldn't find the envelope, so we slept in the vehicle. No other place nearby had vacancies (it's tourist season!), so we toughed it out. Luckily the hotel management was very accommodating, didn't charge us for that night, and took 10% off the remaining nights. Apparently a new staff person started a week ago and was unfamiliar with the last night checkin process. Things happen, and they resolved the situation, so I was happy. Plus it makes for a good story to tell. ;)

The rooms are clean, fast wifi, heated pool, amazing view overlooking the bay, it's right next to Rockland, great prices vs. Camden (for the rich yuppies) and even downtown Rockland. The hotel staff are awesome, very polite. We got a simple breakfast above the office every morning. The highlight was definitely the cat Miya, belonging to the owner. She is very friendly and really makes you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I just stayed 8 nights at Ledges by the Bay. Nice, friendly, clean. Additionally, the view from the balcony made me not want to go and do what I was in the area to do. Sunrise in the morning, moonrise in the evening. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would have to say Ledges by the Bay has the very best location. We watched the full moon from our balcony every night. The rooms are clean and spacious and we could leave the sliding glass door open at night and take in the fresh air. They have fresh baked sweets and coffee in the morning which was great to wake up to. Great location if you want to visit Camden and the light houses. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have even better views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my first time in a place that is not major branded. I'm used to stay in big 4 star chains and I can say that this place it's outstanding in service, features, accessibility and facilities. We stayed for three nights at the retreat which has a out-of-this world view. The retreat is a great choice for families. Bedrooms are clean, nice-décor. Kitchen and dining have a view (bay windows) and the living room has a nice LED TV. Parking is perfect, plenty and very well illuminated. Pool is heated, very clean and with plenty of towels and chairs. The personnel is great. All with smiles and very responsive to your needs. The continental breakfast is great. Plenty of coffee and bakeries. The view from the breakfast area is great.
If I have to rate this place I will give a 10. It's flawless, clean, accessible to major routes and attractions, great place for families or couples who are looking for a peaceful and quiet place. Very romantic!
Question, will I stay again? Definitely. We are making reservations for our next stay!

Room Tip: The cottage and retreat units are the best for families. If you are a couple, choose the middle unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial Street, Rockport, Rockport, ME 04856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ledges By the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.