We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best whole lobster we have ever had, at a 'rock' bottom price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graffam Bros Seafood Shack

Graffam Bros Seafood Shack
211 Union St, Rockport, ME
2072368391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 restaurants in Rockport
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Cross Junction, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The best whole lobster we have ever had, at a 'rock' bottom price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had two 2.5 pound lobsters for our Christmas dinner that were amazing - so much so that we brought four more back to NJ for our friends on New years. I am not exaggerating to say they were the best whole lobsters we have ever head. It did not hurt that some in each batch had wonderful roe, as well. Stick with those under 3 pounds, at least that's the advice, for he best flavor, and I can't imagine any more flavorful than the 2 1/2 pounders we had. And these were about $7.50 a pound - a fraction of their cost in our area in DC.

The service was helpful and very friendly - we had a delay for our first order on Christmas eve and they gave me a free lobster roll for my trouble. The lobster rolls are good, but not a match for the fresh whole lobsters, or the regional oysters, which had a wonderful blend of sweet and salty.

The 'shack' is not open, but the store is, with prepared and fresh seafood, including the lobster rolls and a very good chowder on the day we stopped in for lunch.

A tip - if you, like me, are not adept at shucking raw oysters, you can steam them slightly like a clam or mussel 'til they open - still great. I did not know you could prep them that way but the folks at the store told me yo could and it worked fine.

Winter or summer, a picnic at the Rockport harbor a few blocks away is very nice (just stay in the car with the heater running in winter).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    22
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After reading reviews, we decided to head to Graffam's. Ordered my first Loster Roll and the raved Fish n' Chips. We cannot concur. The help was very friendly and the local rootbeer was a nice surprise!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always ask the natives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were looking for a lobster company in Warren ME and found they were closed on Tuesday, (It is October in Maine and things start to slow down). Stopped at a gas station and asked for a recommendation. The owner said, to try his family seafood business and gave us great directions. Super clean, very good prices and well stocked. We just visited the store and noticed a large crown across the street at their shack,
Friendly, gracious, informative Mainers that have acquired some new customers when we return to the area. ,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great seafood from a food trailer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The bike rental folks suggested we stop a the Graffam trailer on our bike ride. It's 5 minutes out of town and well worth the trip. The fried Haddock sandwich was as good as it gets. Also loved the hand cut fries and Lobster roll. There's plenty of picnic tables on a large open lot. The young couple running it are delightful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best seafood sandwich shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Graffam's runs a fish market on Union Street in Rockport, ME but if you want a fantastic lunch, go across the street to the funky shack that makes the best fish sandwich, lobster rolls, fish taco's and a variety of other delicious fresh seafood delights. We have lived in this area for over 12 years and can't find a better value anywhere around the mid coast region. Not only is the food outstanding, the prices are also the best around.

They do have outdoor picnic tables but we like to ride less than 1/2 mile to the Rockport Harbor Park and watch the lobster boats come in and out. If you're lucky, you will also see the magnificent schooner HERON come in to drop off passengers and pick up a new crew.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graffam Bros Seafood Shack also viewed

Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Graffam Bros Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graffam Bros Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.