We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Samoset Resort On The Ocean to your Saves list
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Warrenton Street, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Milford, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, even in the mid-winter!!! Rooms are excellent and the restaurant serves great food. Will be going back for a third visit next year! The staff are very helpful, and extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but ask for a view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear maisielove,

Thank you for the kind words you wrote in your review of the Samoset. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a third time next year and plan to again exceed your expectations.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    154
    61
    20
    19
See reviews for
228
298
2
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My family and I just returned from a weekend at the Samoset Resort. As one of my favorite places in the world it never disappoints.....service is the best. ...view is amazing. So comfortable and convenient ...kid friendly. Best Cosmo I ever had. Everything is spectacular can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Had a double. Queen ocean view i highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Patricia E,

Everyone at the Samoset extends a warm thank you for your review stating we are one of you “favorite places in the world”. Although we can’t take complete credit for the view of the sunsets, we do make every effort the ensure that all our guests have the same kind of experience as yours. Our skilled Enoteca staff will continue serving our wonderful Cosmos and sunsets for your enjoyment when you return.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have family in the Rockland area and stay at the Samoset several times a year. It is always perfect....no matter the season. In the summer, the pool, tennis and golf are awesome. Great kids activities too. Over the holiday season, the decorations, ice skating and indoor pool are perfect. Wonderful kids stuff too. Rooms are very nice with extra comfy beds. Restaurant has the great combination of excellent food (but also "kid friendly"). We always look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Spa looks great but never used...yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Julie D,

It was with great pleasure that I read your “Another wonderful stay…” review of the Samoset. Since you return to us several times throughout the year when visiting family in the area it is reassuring to know your experience of our amenities, dining, kids’ programs, recreation activities, and guest service are consistently exceeding your expectations.

I will be sure to share your review with our associates. Hopefully your next visit will include a visit to our wonderful spa that you mentioned as it is truly a wonderful place.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We love our stay here ,everything s as usual super we enjoy the pool ,jacuzzi ,resort is convenient to Camden which has cute shops ,mt batty is worth a climb. Across the st is the state park just a walk through down to the water the view is spectacular. A must see

Back to the samoset. The complete staff have been 100%. And maybe much better,
La Bella Vita Was super. , the breakfast buffet is super

Overall the samoset could do just 1 thing for me for next year to make my annual visit to rockland
Perfect. Is to stay open Sunday nite and then close Monday so as won't have to find another hotel for Sunday nite ,after the samoset everything is just a letdown

Room Tip: All rooms are good some have better views of the ocean each room that I have had has beengood
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Mytc99,

What a pleasure it was to read your kind review of the Samoset. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We truly love what we do and knowing our efforts provide guests such as you with a relaxing getaway complete with excellent amenities and activities is our reward. I assure you we will take into consideration your request for us to stay open Sunday night during Veterans Day weekends in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My famiy and i have stayed multiple times at the Samoset Resort and have always had a perfect experience. The rooms are great - very comfortable beds, more than adequate space. We always look forward to the amazing to dining in La Bella Vita - food is amazing and the view is breathtaking. This past weekend we were able to take advantage of the pool - a nice treat when the temperature is in the teens! Lastly, i am always very impressed with the resort staff. Very courteous, friendly, and always wanting to help. We look forward to many more stays at the Samoset.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family i recommend room 410 - or one similiar. The room is a suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Mark N,

It was a pleasure to see your review of the Samoset. Your description of multiple visits with us always resulting in a “perfect experience” is our goal for our guests. Thank you for commenting on our comfortable beds, amazing dining options, beautiful views, and the warm indoor pool. I will share with our staff your kind comments on their friendliness, courtesy, and willingness to always help. We look forward to seeing you again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wish I could post pictures of the sun setting over the bay. That alone is worth the trip. A shouldn't miss stop if you are enjoying Maine. Expect to spend a few bucks here, but it's not Motel 8! A luxury resort from start to finish: room appointments, grounds, restaurants and a beautiful golf course that is challenging and picturesque. This is a place for the discriminating traveler.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear RinkoA,

Your review was a pleasure to read and I appreciate your comments about the Samoset. You certainly experienced everything we have to offer by viewing our lovely grounds, your room, La Bella Vita restaurant, and our golf course. We can’t exactly take credit for arranging the beautiful sunsets, but are so glad you appreciated them just as we do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at Samoset! The two bedroom condo exceeded our expectations! The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our only disappointment was, the closing of the lobby and the restaurant while we were there. We were told that "corporate" decided that the hotel section would be open Friday thru Sunday during this part of the season. What a shame!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear rcjf38,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset. Both our Timeshare Property Manager and I were pleased to read your two bedroom condo exceeded your expectations. Our grounds staff works very hard to keep us looking so nice and I thank you for complimenting their efforts, as well.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton Street, Rockport, ME 04856
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoset Resort On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.