We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Samoset Resort On The Ocean to your Saves list
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Warrenton Street, Rockport, ME 04856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
“Amazing Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have recently had the pleasure of bringing a group to the Samoset Resort and had to take moment to share my experience. The staff was amazing! Friendly and welcoming, really took the time to make sure that I knew where everything was at the resort. They went out of their way to help me with any little things that popped up. I had some guests going out for a biking activity and need some water bottles cleaned and filled with water. They made that happen within 10 minutes of the request. The customer service is outstanding! They have an amazing golf course and other on-site activities including a great spa. It's the most peaceful relaxing stay I've ever had when traveling. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone! I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View Rooms - are well worth the money! The views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Laura C,
Thank you for staying at the Samoset Resort with your group last month. Our teams pride themselves on providing the highest level of hospitality for all guests and we certainly appreciate your many kind words of our staff. I am pleased that the convention staff was able to provide you with all the direction you needed, to ensure you were never lost while on property. We make every effort to make all of our guests’ activities enjoyable and relaxing, especially The Spa! Your recommendation is deeply appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    164
    62
    21
    20
See reviews for
248
317
5
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My company had a weekend away at the Samoset from June 21 to 23. At first, I felt a bit out of my element as far as economic situation, but that melted away at the front desk. My wife and I were greeted warmly and were given directions to our room. Another instance of great service came when our bathroom sink outlets were not working. We immediately spoke to one of the housekeepers about it. She thoroughly checked over every possible reason, but she said she would advise the maintenance dept. It ended up to be a circuit issue. Problem solved and we were quite happy. Location is great and the walk to the Breakwater Light was fun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Mtbasket,
Thank you for staying at the Samoset Resort with you company this June. Our teams strive to provide the highest level of hospitality and comfort for all guests, so I am pleased to hear you were welcomed warmly by our front desk team of professionals. I apologize that there was an engineering issue with the outlets in your bathroom, but I offer many thanks for your kind words of our housekeeping and engineering staff that resolved the issue. The walk to the Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse is a terrific venture that I am glad you were able to experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have traveled extensively, when in the mid coast maine area, nothing compares to the samoset.From the pebble beach type golf course on the ocean to the views, to its storied history. the samoset has no equal.Food is top shelf . The decor tasteful and fresh, the service and staff fantastic.We stayed in the flume cottage .OMG! Heaven.....on a rock on the ocean , we were greater in the morning by seals and fresh sea air, literally paradise on this earth.

Room Tip: Flume cottage an experience of a lifetime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Richard R,
Thank you for visiting the Samoset Resort and staying in our pristine Flume Cottage, we recently added new composite decks and railings which I hope you recognized. Many thanks for your kind words of our golf course, ocean views, restaurant, décor, and staff. I am so pleased you were able to enjoy everything we pride ourselves on providing. I enjoyed assisting our bell staff to provide you a warm welcome. There isn’t anything quite like the Flume Cottage and we look forward to hosting you there again soon!
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First time to Samoset and everything was perfect from the room and views to the golf course. Great staff and great food made it the best weekend ever. Will definitely stay here again! Hotel is starting to look a little dated and could use a renovation but otherwise perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Mike M,
Thank you for spending the weekend at the Samoset Resort last month. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the views, golf course, and restaurant. Many thanks for your kind words of our staff, who work diligently to provide the highest level of hospitality for every guest. We appreciate your feedback regarding the exterior of the building and have planned renovations for this coming off season. Again, thank you for your stay and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to The Samoset with our son and grandson. We had not been to the Samoset for a number of years. Pleased to see some of the upgrades. Had lovely rooms with the same nice balcony. So nice to have a Keurig and complimentary water. The golf course was VERY wet because of all the rain they'd had recently, but that spectacular ocean view is what we went for we didn't mind getting our feet wet. This is the most beautiful golf course in New England.
We enjoyed drinks, coffee and dessert in the lounge. I've never had such a BIG delicious Tiramisu the Creme Brulee was also very good. Had to ask for napkins that is the only complaint we have

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Doris S,
Thank you for staying at the Samoset Resort last month with your son and grandson. I am pleased to hear your positive feedback of the many renovations completed over the past few years and the new in-room amenities you mentioned.
I apologize the weather did not cooperate during your stay, but glad to hear you were adventurous enough to still get out and enjoy the spectacular ocean views. Many thanks for your compliments of our grounds team’s diligent effort to enhance our golf course and oceanic setting.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed drinks, coffee, and dessert in the Entoeca Lounge. The Tiramisu and Crème Brulee are certainly guest favorites. Our apologies for the oversight of napkins that should have come with your dessert and we certainly look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!
With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Big, clean, comfortable room. Nice amenities...Keurig, shampoos, robes. Great view from the balcony. Complimentary water, which is a nice touch. Comfortable bed. Perfect place for a retreat any time of the year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Roadtrip091,
Thank you for staying with us at The Samoset Resort.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations and in-room amenities provided for your convenience and comfort. The oceanic scenery provides an unmatched luxury to our guests and we are pleased you enjoyed the views. Many thanks for your recommendation as a retreat destination anytime of year!
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were at the Samoset last week for two nights for a reunion. Setting is gorgeous, accommodations were very nice, and staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. We had arranged for finger food/cash bar for one night, and a real buffet dinner/cash bar for the second night.
Food at the dinner was good, bartender very accommodating.
Some of the people attending played golf, and thought the course was superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Plainfieldnh,
Thank you for visiting the Samoset Resort for the Colby College Tau Delt reunion.
I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations and oceanic setting. Your kind words of our staff are very much appreciated as our teams work diligently to provide the highest level of hospitality for all guests.
Our catering team is extremely talented in providing memorable events for our groups and we are pleased you enjoyed your special occasion.
We look forward to hosting you again soon for another event or leisure visit.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton Street, Rockport, ME 04856
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoset Resort On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.