We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samoset Resort Golf Course

Samoset Resort Golf Course
Rockport, ME
207-594-1431
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This golf course located on the Penobscot Bay offers beautiful views of the water.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The golfing was excellent - great courses with dramatic and scenic surroundings. Will definitely go back with spouse.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, accommodating, and beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visit the Samoset twice each year and always make a point of playing the course each and every time (more than once if we can). Regardless of the weather that proceeds to round the course is always meticulously manicured and maintained. It is challenging but fair and the fees are very reasonable for that calibre of course. The scenery is second to none with ocean views on 10 holes. But here is the real deal ... the folks that run the pro shop are nothing short of incredible. Gary Soule, who runs the show, is always accommodating and looks after our every need every time we play. His staff are some of the most friendly and respectful people I have ever dealt with - Ben and Bobby to name a couple. Not that the beauty of the course isn't good enough, couple that with the service and you have an immediate recipe for success. Well done guys - you're the best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice open space and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

a very beautiful golf course with oceans views. I think one its kind.really pleases the eye. has many parts to it,driving range,course. my husband took a 1hr class there in the driving range with one of the golf mentor. we opted for video analysis and he was really very knowlegdable in that. he taught very basic tricks giving such examples whihc would be very easy to remember and yet not stressful. they also give golf cart tours there,but it starts after memorial,so we cudnt have that.also the grill area restaurant on the golf course starts then but has good views.overall very nice staff, even cleared many of my doubts on the phone before booking the appointment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most gorgeous course on the Atlantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can't stress enough how beautiful this course is. From the 2nd hole, you get spectacular views of the ocean. The course is challenging, especially the back 9. Hole 14 is a real treat, tees off in the back 40, then coming up to your third shot, you overlook a stunning view of the ocean, sailboats, fishing boats, the whole nine yards!

Staff is very friendly and helpful, the attendants that bring your bags to your cart, the friendly starters and the pros that you can pick up a lesson or two if you are a little off your game.

The driving range is well maintained, the mats are new and the pitching and putting area provide a good warm up.

After your game, the clubhouse has good food and drinks. If you want more views, visit the poolside bar and get a seat overlooking the ocean.

A must on your to do list to your Midcoast Maine vacation.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bring your A game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautiful course along the Atlantic Ocean. Well kept fairways and greens, attentive staff, and beautiful scenery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samoset Resort Golf Course also viewed

Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Samoset Resort Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoset Resort Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.