We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berry Manor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berry Manor Inn to your Saves list
Berry Manor Inn
81 Talbot Avenue, Rockland, ME 04841   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Fling Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NE Ohio
1 review
“A Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Berry Manor Inn is an incredible B&B. The room was cozy and clean, the breakfast was gourmet quality, and the evening pie was delicious. The owners knowledge of the unique sights in the area made for a very enjoyable stay in the Rockland area as we explored Coastal Maine. You cannot go wrong with this B&B. I've stayed at B&B's throughout the US, and the Berry Manor is on the top of my list.
MJSOhio

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    14
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
523
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Berry Manor Inn for 5 nights for our first time in Maine and it was absolutely lovely. It is situated in a residential neighborhood in Rockland so very laid back/low key, which I liked. It's within walking distance to the main street with shops and restaurants in downtown Rockland. Cheryl and Mike are fantastic hosts and Cheryl was extremely helpful in telling us which activities and areas to explore while we were in Maine. The rooms were big and the bathrooms were really nice. The breakfasts were always sooo good...they alternated between an egg type meal and french toast, etc every day. The pies were amazing...I had at least one piece every day. I would definitely return for another relaxing vacation there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We enjoyed the great service at Berry Manor Inn, from the owners Cheryl and Mike, to the assistant innkeeper Chelsea, and the wonderful pie-moms! We found out about Berry Manor Inn from watching a rerun of the “Throwdown with Bobby Flay” episode where Bobby challenged the pie-moms. We looked up the inn and saw how pretty it was and decided to add it to our itinerary for our Maine trip this summer. We are so glad we did!

The house is beautifully restored. We stayed in Room 3, which was the original master bedroom. The room was elegant and spacious. We appreciated the his-and-hers tables that flanked the fireplace. We were surprised by the huge flat-screen TV mounted in one corner of the room. We didn’t turn it on but it’s a nice modern amenity for those interested. The towels were thick and fluffy and the towel service was excellent—there were plenty of extra towels and they were well-replenished. The only negative of the room (out of Berry Manor Inn’s control) was the view out the window to its next door neighbor. We weren’t sure what was going on—perhaps they are in the middle of major renovations—but unfortunately, there was a huge pile of debris (covered in tarp) over there. We could ignore this by leaving the blinds most of the way down.

The breakfasts were tasty. Thank you to Cheryl for accommodating my food allergies by creating alternative yummy dishes. And of course, thanks to the pie moms for baking all of the yummy pies. We tasted apple, blueberry, cherry, and raspberry while we were there. Pie and ice cream available all day was a decadent treat!

Chelsea, the assistant innkeeper was super-friendly and cheerful as she gave us our welcome orientation and helped us with our bags. Cheryl was full of suggestions about area activities and was so helpful in making dinner reservations for us in advance of our arrival to Rockland. We especially enjoyed Café Miranda!

We are so happy to add to the unanimous positive reviews of Berry Manor Inn. The inn is beautiful and everyone there works hard to create a special experience for its guests. They truly go “above and beyond,” anticipating guest needs and fulfilling guest requests. The Berry Manor Inn is a true gem.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Berry Manor Inn in June 2009. We chose the inn because we wanted to be near the coast of Maine to go whale watching. The Inn was comfortable and homey. Everyone there made us feel welcome. The rooms were so nice and the location was excellent. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious and our experience was very positive. We had dinner one night at Amalfi's and it was to die for. I had the lobster pot pie and it was the most decadent and delicious thing I think I have ever eaten. We drove to Boothbay Harbor to whale watch and saw several whales. It was a great trip and we would both recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I do not go anywhere without checking the reviews on tripadvisor.com. When checking on the Berry Manor Inn, we could not believe there was not a single negative review because as the old adage says, you can not please all of the people all of the time. Well, this place seems to. We can add nothing else to the acolades already stated in other reviews other that to say they are all true!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The Berry Manor Inn (BMI) is an old mansion with a carriage house on a quiet street street in Rockland, ME. The mansion has eight guest rooms and the carriage house has four. The first thing you'll notice upon arrival is how immaculate the grounds are. The public areas are beautifully appointed as are the guest rooms. Breakfasts are prepared with great care and always include some sort of fruit, coffee cake and a main course which alternates between savory and sweet. Cheryl and Mike are excellent hosts and have great ideas for sightseeing activities in the area.
Perhaps the most unique feature of the BMI is the fact that Cheryl's and Mike's moms bake homemade pies daily for guests to eat. The pies are among the best my wife and I have ever eaten and go great with the vanilla ice cream found in the kitchen's freezer.
My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs throughout the US and New Zealand. None of them compares to the BMI when it comes to the combination of elegance of the premises and down to earth hosts. We've stayed there twice and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

When we were planning our honeymoon in Maine, we admitted that Rockland and the midcoast was on the back burner to our other destinations (Bar Harbor and Kennebunkport). We reviewed the Select Registry and found the Berry Manor in Rockland. After taking a long look at their website, we chose their bed and breakfast on the strengths of their rooms, food, and the endless source of pie available anytime we wanted. Rockland was close to many things we wanted to do, and we figured it was a good place to launch our honeymoon in Maine. We had never been to New England, and we didn't have any expectations of what we would see and do. Boy, were we surprised!

When we drove up the coast to Rockland, we were impressed and awe-struck by the rugged beauty of the Maine coast. Rockland itself is a very cool little town by the sea, with a strong fishing presence and a proud heritage. When we pulled up to our bed and breakfast, it looked far better than what we had seen in the Select Registry and online. This place is incredible! We were greeted at the door by Chelsie, the assistant inn keeper, and Cheryl, who owns the Manor along with her husband Mike. There is simply NOTHING that Cheryl doesn't know about Maine. She really is the ambassador for the state. If you want to do anything, see anything, or eat anything, Cheryl has a recommendation for you, and will make the reservation! Mike is a great guy, and a total riot. He puts you at ease as soon as you meet him, which is EXACTLY what you want when you're looking to relax and have a good time. Mike certainly knows all about that! Chelsie led us around the inn and showed us to our room. She is very helpful, friendly, and really a great resource for the area as well. Our first impression of the inn was extremely positive, which was great considering our mood after driving 25 hours to get there!

Our room was very spacious (#12) and well-decorated. It really felt like a honeymoon, and the Berry Manor made us feel special and welcome. Our bed was luxurious, and the spa shower, with body jets, was outstanding. We would take several showers a day just to use it! The whirlpool tub is huge and very inviting after long hours on the road. The inn's turn down service was a nice surprise, and very well done. We really would have stayed forever if we could have.

The food is terrific. The breakfast contains large portions of very tasty, and lovingly made, home-cooked delights. The portions are important to note, because the other inns we stayed at in Maine were not even close to this. The food was so good, we asked for a cookbook when we left. The pies are ridiculously good, and available whenever you want them (with ice cream even!). We had apple, blueberry, pecan, raspberry, and cherry while we were there. We probably should have smuggled several pies out of the inn for the way home!

Cheryl gave us a ton of great ideas for the Rockland area, including two great boat rides out into the harbor. One was Captain Jack's Lobster Boat Adventure (HIGHLY recommended) and the other was the Morning In Maine ketch cruse (also HIGHLY recommended). We visited three wineries in the area as well, with outstanding fruit wines (blueberry in particular). The restaurants in the Rockland area are also great, including Amalfi's and the Boat House in particular. Still, the best bet is to buy a lobster from Captain Jack, have it boiled up at Jess' Market, and eat it on the shore!

After the Berry Manor, we traveled up to Bar Harbor, and stayed at a terrible bed and breakfast called the Inn at Bay Ledge. It was so rotten, we canceled our last night and drove back to Rockland for another stay at the Berry Manor! This time, they gave us an even larger room (#11). Both rooms were so good, however, that we can't choose one over the other. You will be impressed with BOTH to be sure.

Overall, if you get to Maine, you simply have to stay at the Berry Manor in Rockland, at least for a night. You'll want to stay for more after that. Forget about Bar Harbor, as there are too many tourists there anyway, and explore the Mid Coast. Berry Manor is the best!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Manor Inn

Address: 81 Talbot Avenue, Rockland, ME 04841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic AAA 4 Diamond Maine bed and breakfast in the lovely town of Rockland. Our historic Rockland, Maine lodging features 12 beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious bedding, whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Don't miss out on complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening sweets with our award winning pies, off-street parking & our stocked guest pantry. Searching through all the Rockland, Maine Hotels or bed and breakfasts in Camden? Come discover the magic of The Berry Manor Inn, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Berry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berry Manor Hotel Rockland
Berry Manor Inn Rockland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berry Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.