We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill's Seafood Co.

Hill's Seafood Co.
266 Main Street, Rockland, ME 04841
+1 207-593-8400
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 79 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Simple. Delicious. Always fresh. Family owned and operated seafood restaurant in Rockland, Maine serving lunch and dinner. A moderately priced casual restaurant with a focus on providing families with simple, delicious, always fresh seafood in a fun atmosphere with great water views.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Had a lovely dinner of very fresh haddock at Hill's Seafood Co. Simply broiled and served with delicious creamy cole slaw and a baked potato, this dinner hit the spot. My friend had the same thing and we both got very generous portions of fish -- almost too generous! As the restaurant is new I am willing to give them a chance to work out any kinks that some customers complained about -- so will definitely go back again. Friendly service and nice for a get together with one friend or several -- the seating on the deck can easily accommodate a large group.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in during the lobster festival because their sign said all you can eat fish & chips $11. What they don't tell you is you only get all you can eat fish and 1 serving of fries.
The fish was over cooked on the first round, could not pick it up to eat, it just fell all apart. Fries were over salted, coleslaw was dry and pretty boring. Danelre was our waitress and she couldn't have cared less. We did not get any extra napkins, she gave us additude, we had to ask for refills. Don't bother with this spot, there are a ton of restraints near them, they more then likely want and care for your business.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Boring!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just ordered the crab dip...couldn't taste the crab. We stopped in thinking it was still Brick's. We stayed to give it a chance, but even though the marguerites were very good they didn't help the crab dip. We won't be back. Too many really great restaurants here in Rockland to waste our time here. The two stars were for the drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From start to finish great, great!!! Food was fresh and great!! Service exceptional!!!! The owner Jeff came out and sat with us.. Five stars for me and my wife!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One word.....disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location and has good potential, but the food was lacking......big time. Seafood was not fresh and my scallops that I had high hopes for were not cooked through at all. Sorry, but 2 thumbs down

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsseafoodco, Owner at Hill's Seafood Co., responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. We are committed to making all of our guests' experiences positive ones and any time that it is brought to our attention that one of our guests is not pleased, we always make an effort to make it right by preparing something else for them. We hope that you will give us a second chance in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill's Seafood Co. also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Hill's Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill's Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.