We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claws Rocks!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claws

Claws
743 Main Street, Rockland, ME 04841
+1 207-596-5600
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Claws specializes in offering the highest quality fresh local seafood, prepared with vintage Maine recipes, all at reasonable prices. Enjoy panoramic views of Rockland Harbor as you dine on our beautiful deck at picnic tables with bright umbrellas. We also can pack all of our menu items for take-out. Call in your order in advance or simply order in person. Serving beer and wine and featuring several local labels. Lobster dinners, steamers, crab cakes, lobster bisque, Angus burgers, chicken sandwiches - everything is made with care and from scratch.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Claws Rocks!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I grew up in Rockland and was home visiting family. We drove to Rockland to grab a bite at a shack and saw Claws and turned around. The lady was so high energy and you could tell she was passionate about her place. So cute and the food was fantastic! Shrimp roll, Crabmeat roll and a lobster roll. The coleslaw was amazing too! Cute little patio and the bathroom was decorated with cool pictures. We will be back.

Dee

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome seaside eating with a breeze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After driving through Rockland on a camping trip, we looped back and decided to eat here (looked appealing.) I had a crab roll and my girlfriend ordered a fish sandwich. Both were excellent. The woman taking orders was extremely pleasant, friendly, and enthusiastic. The picnic tables were clean and the atmosphere was great. I highly recommend Claws for your seafood needs!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great find, wish I lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We vacation each year in Rockland Maine, and love to check out new places. This is our new favorite place! We ate there twice in one day, then again another day. I had the seafood chowder, and lobster mac and cheese the 1st day. The chowder had plenty of seafood and seasoned well. The mac and cheese was so rich and full of lobster. I wanted more for dinner, but we brought friends with us so I tried the broiled haddock sandwich. It was so flaky and moist, amazing! Nothing like other places make. Prices are very reasonable and everything is home made. Outside seating only.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Claws is a "must visit" casual dining destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Claws is a "must visit" casual outdoor destination in Rockland, Maine for anyone on the lookout for delicious lobster, reasonable prices, friendly service, clean outdoor tables, and a nice view. This was our first visit to Claws, and they served us the most flavorful, lobster-filled lobster mac and cheese and an excellent, generously stuffed lobster roll that were among the best I've had in over 25 years of visiting Maine! We were happy in every regard at Claws. Even the bathroom is clean and cute here; strange but true! Wish we could have visited Claws more than just once on this trip. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The true Maine seafood experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have lived in Maine for 2 1/2 years and as a Mainer this is the true Maine seafood experience. Little side restaurants like this are scattered throughout Maine claiming the best seafood around but ladies and gents Claws is it. Delicious fresh seafood, great prices, large portions, friendly owners, ideal outdoor seating - a hidden gem! I am so glad we stumbled upon Claws on our way from Camden. This will be the spot I recommend to anyone and everyone for seafood from now on. Steamers, lobster rolls, yum - you won't want to miss out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claws also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Claws? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claws, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.