We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claws

Claws
743 Main Street, Rockland, ME 04841
+1 207-596-5600
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Claws specializes in offering the highest quality fresh local seafood, prepared with vintage Maine recipes, all at reasonable prices. Enjoy panoramic views of Rockland Harbor as you dine on our beautiful deck at picnic tables with bright umbrellas. We also can pack all of our menu items for take-out. Call in your order in advance or simply order in person. Serving beer and wine and featuring several local labels. Lobster dinners, steamers, crab cakes, lobster bisque, Angus burgers, chicken sandwiches - everything is made with care and from scratch.
Owls Head, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Check this place out if your in the area or traveling up Route One in mid-coast Maine. Enjoy excellent seafood...........Lobster, Mussels etc............Have it there on their deck or take it to go....either way you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worth the Drive - Best Lobster Roll, Best Haddock Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Brand new roadside restaurant Claws, located in Rockland, is worth driving to from Camden. The bright red paint and harbor-view picnic area make a thoughtfully decorated, comfortable casual setting.

My husband LOVES the lobster roll here -- it's large pieces of lobster on a buttery toasted roll, NOT mostly mayonnaise. I love the haddock sandwich -- broiled not fried, and served with garlic, great tartar sauce, and your choice of fixings.

Kids were happy to find grilled cheese and fluffernutter offered (not on the same sandwich). Claws graciously accommodated special requests from our kids, resulting in raving fans.

They have a fun selection of drinks, including beer and cider. The owners are both friendly and attentive; both times we have visited the cook somehow found time to come out and ask how we were doing.

To top it off, the bathroom is CLEAN and cute!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
1 review
“Best Lobster Roll in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We are native Mainer's, spending some time on the coast. We noticed Claws driving by, had not seen it before - it looked very inviting (bright red with boat in front - cool deck area facing the harbor, so we stopped in. We learned that Claws has been open only 2 weeks. Now, Ive had hundreds of lobsters rolls over the years and I have NEVER had a better one than at Claws - overflowing with fresh lobster - perfectly toasted bun - SO GOOD. Try the potato salad side - excellent and a little different. The service is take out window style and very very friendly. You certainly can find a cheaper lobster roll in Maine, but you will NOT find a better one. We will be back soon - a very refreshing experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenants Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! I live in Maine and can't get over this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Absolutely love Claws. What a great addition to Rockland - the seafood is so incredibly fresh and the menu is great. The atmosphere is fantastic, the owners did such a nice job designing the space overlooking Rockland Harbor . The service is friendly and professional and wait until you see the bathroom - I'm not kidding! Don't miss eating at Claws!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Even on a rainy day, the outside deck atmosphere was great! The owners/ employees were so nice and helpful. The potato salad and seafood chowder were to die for and the service was fast! I highly recommend even if you're just passing through!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claws also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Claws? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claws, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.