We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripples Inn at the Harbor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ripples Inn at the Harbor
Save
You added Ripples Inn at the Harbor to your Saves list
16 Pleasant Street, Rockland, ME 04841   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring has Sprung Special
Ranked #4 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Sacramento, California
1 review
“Charming and Reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I honeymooned in New England and found this great BnB. Sandy is a great host and the rooms were very nicely appointed. As is common in Maine, folks wear many hats and work several jobs, and Sandy was called to Portland to work. She called a friend to stand in, enter Marilyn, also a lovely and charming host. Both were very friendly and offered suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Breakfasts were delicious and artisticly presented with lively conversation. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
falmouth, maine
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed here as a place to stage our dinner at Primo's from. We arrived in awful May weather at about 3pm. Sandy - the owner - is an interesting and very nice woman. The place is sort of classic B & B - filled with knick knacks, bric a brac, about 5 rooms, very clean, well decorated, a nice mix of current and traditional. Our room, right on the ground floor, was clean, tasteful, loads of interesting accoutrements. Sandi knows her stuff about the area, the location is great, 0.8mi to Primo, 2 blocks to the harbor and downtown. Really, not much to say. It was everything it should have been. Clean, safe, good location, nice attentive owner. Breakfast was very good; whole wheat pancakes, bacon, great fruit platter (papaya, oranges, dried apricots); sandi joined us and we had some great conversation with another couple; I'm a bit of a misanthrope and generally dread human interaction, but once we got into a conversation our breakfast companions were very interesting, as was Sandy. I'd go back in a heartbeat, I'd recommend it unhesitatingly. Only issue? Yeah. 5 star place, 1 star toilet paper....seriously!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great find in Rockland, Maine! We made this reservation so that we would not have to drive the 2 hours home after a late-night dinner at the wonderful and well-touted "Primo" restaurant. FIrst, the Ripples Inn is just 0.8 miles from the Primo. Walkable! Both to this fine eatery, and to the Main St. strip. The Ripples owner, Sandi, is affable and welcoming, and very knowledgeable about all-things Rockland. We were one of three couples staying there that night, and it was the first time (at a B&B) that we really wallowed over breakfast, as not only was the company entertaining and great to keep breakfast conversation with, but Sandi's food was very tasty!

THe rooms are tastefully appointed and consummately clean and tidy.
Best of all: we were able to bring our dog!
We will go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just got back from a perfect trip and stay at Sandi's wonderful B&B! We took and end of fall trip to explore mid coast Maine and Sandi's B&B was the perfect central location to call home for 4 days as we took day trips up and down the coast. We so enjoyed her delicious breakfasts and conversation. We shared our travels the day before, she gave us great recommendations of places to check out that day and of course local restaurants to try in the evening when we got back.

We stayed in the Poet and Painter's Room which was very comfortable, private bath and very comfortable bed. What was very nice is there is a common area upstairs to have coffee, read, play games, make some popcorn,etc... I really enjoyed getting up early and not disturbing anyone and going to sit and having a cup of coffee while reading.

Sandi is also literally minutes from the pier, you can walk out the front door and walk to the pier and get a wonderful view of the coast early morning or in the evening at sunset - and then head right into town for some shopping and treats.

Sandi is such a wonderful person and getting to know her and her two dogs during our stay really made it special. We look forward to going back in spring/summer to visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was on a very quick road trip through Maine and I decided to stay here with only a few days notice. Not only is the host very accommodating, sweet and a great cook. Her home is lovely and walkable to everything. She also has 2 very cute dogs.

We stayed in the beach room on the ground floor which looks bigger in person than in the pictures. Loved the decor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Back to reality after spending 4 lovely days at Ripples Inn. Innkeeper Sandi, runs a welcoming B&B, serving a healthy breakfast of seasonal fresh fruits, juice, eggs or breakfast casseroles, muffins and sausage or bacon. Breakfast is served in a cheerful sunlit dining room decorated with her eclectic mix of family antiques. Nothing stuffy. Sandi puts a fresh spin on her decorating style. The beds are very comfortable after a long day of sightseeing or sailing and Sandi has a wealth of knowledge about activities in the area. We can't wait to start planning our next trip to Maine and will definitely be staying at Ripples Inn when in the Rockland area.

Room Tip: Because this inn is located close to town and evening activities, if you are a light sleeper, reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed only one night, but it was so relaxing. We had the Beach Room, which is just off the porch - perfect for us. It was a rainy evening when we arrived & we just enjoyed sitting on the porch (with the gorgeous Maine Coon Cat) reading, drinking tea, enjoying the porch swing.
Sandi is a very welcoming host & has thought of everything: books, games, cd's, tea & coffee, guest refrigerator, etc. And the breakfast was out of this world! Sandi prepared fruit, eggs, bacon, and a blueberry coffee cake that was just divine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ripples Inn at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripples Inn at the Harbor

Address: 16 Pleasant Street, Rockland, ME 04841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep like a ROCK at ROCKland Maine's Ripples Inn. Feels like your home away from home... on the coast yet without the COST! Enjoy the simple pleasures of a Maine lifestyle like big yummy breakfasts and soft warm beds for those cool New England nights. Come walk the rocky coast; grab a lobster roll; find a treasured book at the coffee shop; stroll in town. Come for a craft workshop, a cooking lesson or a thrilling adventure on the water. There's so much to DO! DE-STRESS! Come for a vacation but leave with an EXPERIENCE! Wake up your inner child and dabble in your creativity. Take a risk... You could be a Poet and not know it! (or something equally great) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripples Inn At The Harbor Rockland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripples Inn at the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.