We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meatball sub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackboard Deli

The Blackboard Deli
77 Park Street, Rockland, ME 04841
+1 207-593-0465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Creative approaches to familiar classics....Featuring grilled sandwiches and panini's, specialty pizzas, fresh salads, and daily specials. Beer and wine are available to enjoy while you dine in.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meatball sub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have had their meatball sub 3x now and everytime is like the first time! Plenty of meatballs, just the right about of sauce and cheese. The roll is heavenly!
The roasted chicken panini is awesome too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit of the Old Port here on the midcoast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am so excited about this new addition to the Rockland food scene! It feels like a bit of the Old Port, combining an urban hip feel with killer sandwiches and pizza. Love everything I've tried, especially the Beer Bread and Bacon Grilled Cheese and the House Bratwurst. They have my favorite kind of pizza, with thin crust, cooked to perfection. The staff is friendly and the menu is fun and creative. I love the option to have coleslaw or potato salad with my sandwich. I've eaten there three times a week since they've opened and every time has been perfection.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“A nice addition-keep it up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The old Amato's has had such a facelift. The space is airy and urbany with chalkboard menus revolving around freshly made pizza (inc gluten free). We had 2 Reuben sandwiches that were delicious. There are wines to take out and we had 2 unusual black cherry drinks from the fridge-also yummy. Such a nice stop in a food wilderness stretch of road. We will be back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“great food prepared fresh and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

we tried a lot of their new selections and the food is great its worth the visit,trust me, the beer bread is amazing the pizzas are artisan style and finally great pizza in rockland,they will do great because you can see the passion in the recipes,thanks for opening up a great food spot,we loved it,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackboard Deli also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Blackboard Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackboard Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.