We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience to Remember!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conte's 1894 Restaurant

Conte's 1894 Restaurant
148 South Main Street, Rockland, ME 04841
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Brewer, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Experience to Remember!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I drove an hour and a half to go to Conte's 1894 Restaurant. Be prepared for the unexpected. Opened at 5 and usually sell out by 7 7:30. Menu is on the board when you walk in. Hostess?? explains the menu and you place your order at that time on a piece of scratch paper. CASH ONLY!! Newspapers are strewn on the tables in place of table cloths. Meals are served in old pie plates. We were clueless about the type of bread, however it was great and didn't care much about it's kind. We both had 1/2 lobsters with shrimp and scallops. There must have been a dozen of both shrimp and scallops. All is served over a bed of pasta. The wife had a marinara sauce on hers and I had an olive oil garlic mixture. I thought that we were going to get a ton of pasta and little bit of seafood as is most of the cases when we've dined out So,so,so,so,so wrong!! Our first though about the taste of our dinners was bland. However when we began to scrutinize more carefully everything was just perfect. The sauces were perfect. Most places have sauces that hid the flavor of the food, at Conte's all flavors are very well balanced and you taste of the seafood pops!!! To describe the exact experience is actually impossible because it is as personal as your own choice of meal. My wife's glass of wine was like a third of a bottle of wine, large. Nothing fancy about Conte's. The amount of food is more than plentiful. Actually almost everyone takes home a zip lock bag (yup that's what I said)of their leftovers. Ask about the story of the zip lock bag versus the Styrofoam container. Fifty bucks for two meals that could be easily divided for two more people or take home for a second treat. If your looking for a place that is very elegant, not going to happen at Conte's. If you want to dine on the best prepared Italian seafood in the area Conte's is your place. We are going to return soon because Conte's is well worth the hour and a half/three hour round trip trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    32
    7
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Each year we spend several weeks in Rockland. A highlight of our stay is dinner at Contes. Last night we went with some friends who are also Contes fans. As usual, the menu was printed on paper at the entrance and the waitress reviewed it. We placed our orders and found our table (covered with newspaper) on which there were plates of crisp salad greens and fresh baked bread. Three of us had haddock with shrimp and scallops on a bed of pasta with a tasty red sauce. My husband opted for the Fra Diavlo sauce which was served on the side. One of our friends had swordfish which was cooked perfectly. Our wine glasses were large and filled to the brim. My husband enjoyed San Miguel beer which he picked from the cooler. Leftovers (and there were plenty) were scraped into large Ziploc freezer bags. Our waitress, Hannah, was delightful. Another great meal. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“ Eclectic spot in Rockland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

There were three of us and we ordered two entrées. One was a dish with Scottish salmon and wild sockeye salmon. The other dish was shrimp and lobster in the shell. All dishes come with pasta and either olive oil/garlic sauce or a red sauce. Each entrée comes with a big salad and homemade bread. The atmosphere is Bohemian with newspaper on the tables. The wine comes in big goblets and is filled liberally. It's either red white or pink. They also have beer. An interesting and unusual spot to go to when in Rockland. Lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Conte's is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you want fresh seafood at a decent price with plenty of leftovers and a laid back atmosphere...this is the place for you! Conte's has its own way of doing things though. You place an order before sitting down. The menu is limited since they prepare whatever is bought fresh that day. Every dish comes with pasta and you have the choice of 4 different sauces to accompany it. Once you sit down there is salad and a huge serving of bread waiting for you. The wine glasses are always filled to the brim and I observed others with a variety of beer bottles in hand from the standing cooler. Great food and wonderful service. It was one of the highlights of our trip while in Rockland. We heard about it on Anthony Bourdain's show, No Reservations and it certainly left an impression on us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owls Head, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Huge portions, fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The salmon dish I ordered was not only huge (I got 3 meals out of it!!) It was deliciously fresh. The bread and salad was delicious as well. The atmosphere was nothing fancy but it gives it character. Somewhat hidden location that isn't very well displayed for passing diners but a great location for those looking for a quiet getaway for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conte's 1894 Restaurant also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Conte's 1894 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conte's 1894 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.