We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understanding Lighthouses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Lighthouse Museum

Maine Lighthouse Museum
One Park Drive, P.O. Box F, Rockland, ME 04841
207-594-3301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 attractions in Rockland
Type: Specialty Museums, Lighthouses
Attraction Details
Stow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Understanding Lighthouses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Beautifully laid out and with great descriptions of the different types of lights. We learned why Maine has so many lighthouses. Situated right downtown on the harbor.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Must see !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Interesting museum with real Light house glass lights on display. Some even looked like large jewels! Inexpensive way to spend a rainly day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follansbee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal private tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Girlfriend and I Was on way to bar harbor from Boston 3 weeks ago and was trying to visit many lighthouses in Maine (18) total... Decided to stop and check museum out... We thought we would just do a walk through in 15 minutes and leave.... We met an elderly lady who gave us a private tour and it was breathtaking. It was the highlight of our trip learning from her knowledge and personal experience living and maintaining a lighthouse with her family... We personally want to thank you for your eloquence and let everyone know to definantly stop if ur traveling up the coast of Maine.. It's 5$ to get in but leave a donation afterwards...... Its worth it. 5stars

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Sense it was our first time in Maine, this was very enjoyable. The staff was very helpful in answering any questions we had.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“THE Place for lighthouse junkies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Wonderful exhibits, definitely too much to absorb in one trip. Largest display of Fresnel lenses I have seen in one place. Thanks to the foresight of Ken Black to preserve this part of our history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Maine Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Lighthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maine Lighthouse Museum to your Saves list