We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primo

Primo
2 South Main Street, Rockland, ME 04841
207 596 0770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Italian and Mediterranean inspired menu...James Beard Award winning Chef Melissa Kelly prepares Farm to Table Cuisine in a restored farmhouse. 4 Acres of kitchen gardens, heritage pigs & chickens supply the restaurant with the freshest ingredients. Primo is both a gem to our local clientele as well as a culinary destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Supporting local and sustainable farms & businesses. Creative & seasonal cocktails, artisanal breads, handmade pastas, gelato and much more. Sundays and Thursdays come for $1 oyster night at the bar or join us for our small plates menu at our new Antipasti Counter. WE HAVE 40-50 SEATS AVAILABLE FOR GUESTS DROPPING IN WITHOUT RESERVATIONS.....THERE IS ALWAYS A PLACE !!! Private Salon on the second floor for up to 14 guests or reserve one of the original parlor rooms. Make a reservation or feel free to drop in to our lounge area.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We eat here at least twice a year. Everything is either raised or grown on the property. Award winning chef, never disappoints. Imaginative menu. Loved the Zeppole!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    73
    54
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were in Maine on vacation and friends who live in Portland recommended Primo as a must for dinner. The food was very good, but the service did not live up to their reputation as one of the best restaurants in New England. Our server took our order and left us to decide on a wine and then didn't come back for our wine order. We tried to catch his attention but weren't successful--that should never happen. Our appetizer arrived so quickly we had not eaten our one-bite amuse bouche. We finished our appetizer before the server came back to take our wine order. No point in ordering a bottle now....
This restaurant uses multiple servers for each table and the person delivering orders at our table and others near-by was completely confused. He stood in the middle of the room holding plates and looking around trying to figure out where the order should go--every single order during our dinner. Not "top restaurant" service at all.
The food was very tasty and nicely presented. We had scallops for an appetizer--one each. I had halibut and my partner had duck. Both were very good, although the descriptions led me to believe there would be actual vegetables on the plate and there were only a couple of nickel-sized transparently thin slices of beet and 3-4 kernels of corn. Maybe more impressive during growing season? Desserts were excellent.
Do not be fooled by the description of the downstairs as a "formal" dining room. People were dressed VERY casually--sandals, capris, etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Missing this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We visited this restaurant in May and June of 2013 and have recently been missing it! On our first visit, we had a reservation for the downstairs dining room and had the baseball cut NY strip and the pork saltimbocca. Both were perfection, as were the zeppoles for dessert! We then came back later in the week to try the lounge menu and had a wonderful time trying the small plates! We love supporting farm-to-table, especially when it tastes like this! Delightful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Primo--dining gem of New England, at least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've been to Primo several times now and each visit is as fresh and innovative as the last. With garden-to-table dining, you can tell the difference and it's a dramatic one. I love arugula; and just last week at Primo I had a salad with arugula, creamy mozzarello, fresh mission figs and lighter-than-air dressing. It was one of the best salads I've ever eaten. Pastas are silken, with imaginative toppings that range from seafood to duck bolognese; they are available in both entree or appetizer size. Seafood is used imaginatively without compromising its basic goodness. Chef Kelley runs a superb kitchen. She also has an extraordinary staff--astute and low key, knowledgeable, gracious, caring without being cloying. While this restaurant is a recognized gem in the culinary world, and deservedly so, we always feel welcome and comfortable there--no pretense, no attitude. Just truly wonderful food. Bravo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a fabulous restaurant with great food and service. If you sit upstairs you get access to the small plate menu and the downstairs more formal method. Upstairs you can also see the cooking area for the small plates. They keep this area for walk in diners (we got there early to sit upstairs). Staff was very well informed. Ordered off both menus and food was excellent. Can get more reasonable priced meal upstairs with small plates. Great assortment. Menu changes daily. Local sourcing from farms. Get here if you can. Reservations are necessary (except for walk in area) far in advance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.