We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, Yum, Yum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasses Hot Dogs

Wasses Hot Dogs
2 North Main Street, Rockland, ME 04841
207.594.7472
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Midcoast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stand in line for a GREAT hot dog! Cooked in peanut oil and served on a steamed bun. They have a variety of flavors, but I still prefer their hot dog with the works. They also offer a free hot dog if your dog is with you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had to go to Wasses as this was a favorite of my Mom and Aunt who have passed. It had been years since I was there. We were in the Rockland area for a couple of days but this was a must do. The hot dogs were excellent and the kids loved theirs. The price was reasonable and the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Alabama
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everyone said to get one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had to stop to Wasses because everyone told us how good they are. Their pretty much standard hot dogs. The chili sauce is probably better than most. I would say the cheese is not better. I did like the bacon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good hot dogs and reasonable prices, but honestly expected something amazing after reading the reviews. The hot dogs themselves weren't anything to write home about. Wasses does a good job of dressing them up, though, so they still come out pretty good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the first time I have tried their hotdogs! Yummy! The fact that you have to eat in your car or use your car as a table is outweighed by the hot dogs and the delicious crinkle cut french fries. I have tried the kraut dog, bacon dog, everything dog and chili dog. ( not all at one sitting)- chili dog was good but chili came out of a can I believe so it could have been better- Service is fast and price is worth it- But if you are looking for fancy you will not find it here, what you will find is friendly people and great hotdogs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasses Hot Dogs also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Wasses Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasses Hot Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.