We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eclipse

Eclipse
2 Park Drive, Rockland, ME 04841
+1 207-596-6661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Rockland
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This new restaurant offered us generous portions but more importantly, they offered delicious entrees. The menu has many options and everything we ordered was chef quality. We began with the House specialty salad which had salad greens, cranberries, feta cheese , grape tomatoes all in a subtle dressing. The husbands enjoyed the scallop/bacon appetizer. We chose the salmon encrusted special, the lobster pot pie special and the haddock piccata. Everyone agreed their meal was full of flavor and done to perfection. Even my seasonal vegetables were delicious. We ended with two of their desserts after viewing the spectacular dessert choices- brought to your table. If my memory is correct, they had caramel cheesecake, blueberry or strawberry shortcake, chocolate creme brule, brownie kuhlua sundae and another option. We enjoyed the brownie and blueberry desserts. Our server was very helpful as well throughout the evening. We sat by the window with a view of the harbor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a great meal at this restaurant and it is near the waterfront. I loved that it had music on this particular night. We had the haddock and scallops in a basket and vegetable medley was great. The batter on the fish was very light and the food was really good. Hopefully when we get back to this area we will definetly go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went to Chowder House on Monday for lunch. Hostess was super pleasant and friendly. The food was delicious as was the atmosphere. Waitstaff was very accommodating. Will return soon. I hope I will see the same staff again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, but not as great as the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose this restaurant because of the excellent reviews. The food was okay, but I had to tweak the haddock dish I ordered. It needed a lot of lemon and some garlic and salt. Was able to get some lemon. The salad dressing was a vinegarette, too sour, and needed salt. Not planning on returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the staff....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went looking for an air conditioned eatery during a particularly hot spell! The Chowder House advertised an air conditioned basement dining room. We inquired at the check in desk and were told it did exist and then we were led through the HOT upstairs dining room to a back corner (which was down a step...) and a very large fan was directed at the table...I asked if this was what they meant by "air conditioned dining room" and the host realized we actually meant the basement dining room. He excused himself to "check at the bar" if this room was available (???) then he returned to us and led us back out to the check in desk and down the stairs to the left. He flicked on the lights ahead of us and we were met by sort of a frat party ambiance - Twisted Tea flags all around, stocked bar along one side, scattered tables and captain's chairs.
It was nice and cool and we certainly didn't have to worry about shouting to be heard...we were alone throughout our meal. The waitress was prompt despite our remote location. The food was marginal - lobster corn chowder served in a cup about half the size of a coffee mug for $10. Calamari was nice and tender but the accompanying sauce tasted of mass production (jar or can) topped with crushed red pepper...not good. Fried scallops were delicious...shrimp were so tiny (tinier than any Maine shrimp I've seen) - a wee bit larger than rice krispies... and tartar sauce was very bland. French fries were frozen variety. Chicken sandwich was enjoyed until the end when a slightly under cooked texture threw it off. Kudos for great service but we all felt the kitchen needs some help!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclipse also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eclipse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.