We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to order, Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duo's Fish 'N' Chips Takeout

Duo's Fish 'N' Chips Takeout
1 Park Dr, Rockland, Rockland, ME 04841
+1 207-593-2784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Fish & Chips, Chowder
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Made to order, Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I visited Duo's on a Friday in August. The stand was staffed by one man at the time who took care of our large group with care and good humor. The Lobster Roll is unbelievable! One of the best I have had. Ever. The haddock sandwich is also very tasty. Everything was made fresh to order and with speed! Even the tartar sauce tasted fresh and homemade. This place is THE place to stop when traveling through the area. Seriously, try the Lobster Roll. Great value, too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“yum! BEST LOBSTER rolls! great food, great value &great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Duo's is a no frills food truck that is truly a hidden gem serving amazing local and fresh seafood. Seriously- this place has probably the best lobster rolls I have ever had. Tons of lobster meat, just the right amount of dressing and you can't beat the price. My friends got the fish n chips and were equally impressed. If you are in the area it's worth grabbing a quick bite to eat here. They even have nice picnic tables available to relax while you're eating. The owners were also incredibly friendly and gave me great advice as to make the most of my Maine vacation. I'll definitely be back during my next trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AWESOME! Best Lobster Roll in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything on the menu is great. Best lobster roll anywhere. And this business was founded by a couple of young, college students. I have been going there since they opened and they maintain their quality year after year. I have been telling their story for years and am so glad they are now on Trip Advisor. It's a food truck at it's best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lobster Rolls: Best Value and Flavor in New England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Over the weekend, hubby and I sampled several different lobster rolls from various establishments across Maine. Duo's came out on top by a mile. The bun is grilled perfectly, buttery and crisp on the outside, soft and tender on the inside. The lobster meat is served in generous chunks with just a very light dressing and very very flavorful. Pricing (summer 2013) was just $12 per roll or $14 for a roll+drink+fries combo. Excellent value. The meals are served out of a food truck in an empty lot with several picnic tables nearby for al fresco dining. This will be a repeat stop next summer when we visit Maine again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Duo's Takeout while on vacation in Rockland, Maine. My partner and I were first greeted by two courteous, charming gentlemen - the owners of this phenomenal food truck. We ordered a sampler platter - lobster roll, crab roll, haddock sandwich, fish 'n' chips, Duo burger, and onion rings.

My favorites were the lobster roll and the haddock sandwich. These guys really nailed the lobster roll - lots of fresh lobster meat, perfect amount of mayo and seasoning on a toasted, buttered bun. Amazing! The haddock in both the sandwich and the fish 'n' chips was delicious. Perfectly fried and great quality fish! Yummy!

Highly recommended takeout! Bring the whole family. Best of luck to these fine young business owners! You've got another Duo's customer for life!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo's Fish 'N' Chips Takeout also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Duo's Fish 'N' Chips Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo's Fish 'N' Chips Takeout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.