We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clan MacLaren's

Clan MacLaren's
395 Main St, Rockland, ME 04841-3305
207-593-7778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: A Yelp review: http://www.yelp.com/biz/clan-maclarens-rockland
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Only got to visit Maine for the day and happened to stop in at Clan MacLaren's. We had the lobster roll on fresh bread and fish chowder-it was delicious. The service was great and friendly. To top off our meal we had freshly made mini pumpkin whoopie pie, can't decide which part was best:-) Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly, comfortable, and the best lobster roll we have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Quick service and yummy food. Lobster roll was so good on a fresh roll. Whoopie pie to die for was the desert of choice. Great value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapleigh, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The freshest Lobster Roll EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The freshest lobster, from the boat, to the pot, to my plate! Who wants a skimpy hot dog roll when you can order this lobster meat salad on a fresh bulkie roll! The perfect amount of mayo to keep it somewhat together, and able to savor the flavor of fresh cracked lobster. I cannot wait to go back and try their other sandwiches and salads! The fresh unsweetened iced tea was just as wonderful as was the staff and owners! I highly recommend this cafe style restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality Sandwiches and Chowders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Absolutely one of the best BLTs ever. I'm not sure why - good bread, good bacon, warm cheese, just plain good. Other interesting sandwiches are on the extensive menu and lots of interesting sounding salads are to be found as well.

The seafood chowder was amazing. Lobster (fresh caught by the owner), scallops and clams in a wonderful, rich, tasty broth. I'd order it again, and hope I have a chance to do just that.

Order at the counter, grab your drink from the cooler and have a seat. One of the friendly staff will be over with your lunch in short order. If you're planning a big dinner, this is a great place for a quick, delicious lunch to keep you going through the afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lunch after the Farnsworth on August 22. Almost sent it back. Haddock chowder over thickened and almost all potatoes. Barely a scrap of fish. Very undistinguished lobster salad sandwich. Yes lobster, but no mayo, celery, et. Poor bun. Wife's chicken salad sandwich was tasteless. My advice is keep walking. There have to be spots with a better price to value ratio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clan MacLaren's also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Clan MacLaren's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clan MacLaren's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.