We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy pub, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterworks Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Waterworks Restaurant
7 Lindsey Street, Rockland, ME
(207) 596-2753
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 78 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Popular restaurant and pub located in old water company building. Great bar
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfy pub, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stopped by this pub a few times during our week in the area. Only tried the appetizers, but everything we sampled was great. The crab dip is a must-try! Interesting and varied beer selection. Staff was very friendly & never let our glasses fully empty before either bringing us new beers or at least checking in with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff is always friendly and welcoming when we arrive. Great menu selections, lots of choices for everyone. Burgers are always great and the tuna steaks are fabulous too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atch09
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pub food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stopped in for a snack and a beverage- the service was great and the food was cheap and good. We'd recommend it to our friends!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, ME
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and Craft Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Waterworks rotates its craft brews while maintaining a decent lineup of regular selections. The menu is varied, of good quality and not overwhelming for the chef to maintain. The staff is pleasant, efficient and welcoming. I enjoy eating there at least once a month.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Average pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not bad--you can hit a home run here or you can strike out...order carefully, don't order anything exotic, and in general, avoid any fish at edgy establishments like this. You know it will be frozen and you will probably be disappointed. The same goes for shellfish...which in spite of the location, will not be fresh either. (Forgive me if I'm wrong about this, but I live here and I know all about fish, so I may be discriminating). I had to be judgmental, but after all, isn't a review an objective judgement based on experience? With that said, I've never had a bad meal here. But it's really hard to wreck a burger and fries. If all you're interested in is a good healthful meal, go around the corner to the Market Basket.
And forget the homespun picture of the turkey at the top of the page--you won't find anything like this at the Waterworks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterworks Restaurant also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterworks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterworks Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.