We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at the Farnsworth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnsworth Art Museum

Farnsworth Art Museum
16 Museum St, Rockland, ME 04841
207-596-6457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Rockland
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating Maine’s Role in American Art, the Farnsworth Art Museum offers a nationally recognized collection of works from many of America’s greatest artists. With 20,000 square feet of gallery space and over 10,000 works in the collection, there is always something new on view at the Farnsworth. The museum has one of the nation's largest collections of works by sculptor Louise Nevelson. Its Wyeth Center features works of Andrew, N.C. and Jamie Wyeth. The Farnsworth's library is also housed in its Rockland, ME, campus. Two historic buildings, the Farnsworth Homestead and the Olson House, and Julia's Gallery for Young Artists complete the museum complex.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun at the Farnsworth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The museum is totally worth a look. It is only $12 to get in, which is pretty reasonable. We spent about two hours there. I'd say it's a midsize museum. They have lots of great things to check out. If you like Andrew Wyeth, they have an entire section of his paintings. I would have like to have seen "Christina" there as the house where it was painted is only about 25 minutes away but alas that painting is at MoMa in NYC. They have a great little exhibit about the Wizard of Oz going on through March. It was pretty neat. If you can sit in on the lecture about the Oz exhibit, you should do so. It was really interesting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    71
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely see the Olsen House if you're an Andrew Wyeth fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Farnsworth museum and Wyeth Center were very nice, but for us the highlight was driving out to Cushing, ME to visit the Olsen House, which is owned by the Farnsworth Museum. My family are all fans of Andrew Wyeth and it was a highlight of our trip to Maine to see the house where he painted so many great works of art, including "Christina's World." We had an absolutely wonderful tour guide. The nearby field and Olsen family cemetery are not owned by the museum, but if you are respectful you can walk through the field to the cemetery. Andrew Wyeth is buried there along with the Olsens. If you are an Andrew Wyeth fan, it's definitely worth the drive to Cushing to see the Olsen House. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Maine Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Change is happening at the Farnsworth. I have made multiple visits during the last year, attending openings, observing docents skillfully guiding children through collections, and experiencing the museum and classes with family and friends. Each visit has offered something rich and meaningful. The single most exciting event was a panel of young artists who spoke about their work as collaborators in their fields.Two described projects with students, using multiple mediums through which to tell a story or express their ideas. The third was a sculptor who worked closely with colleagues.
I congratulate the Farnsworth on its new endeavors and on bringing a younger generation into the museum context - now a forum for shared thinking and burgeoning ideas as well as a setting for viewing works of art.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

A wonderful museum well laid out with a focus on Maine art and the Wyeths in particular. it has very good info on each painting. There are several buildings all were interesting. They had a traveling exhibit of the Wizard of Oz while it was limited it was very interesting. The church building had a great village and train display for Christmas. A good trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“1st Rate Art Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My organization had a reception at the Farnsworth, which was a good excuse to visit. Currently, there is an entertaining "Wizard of Oz" exhibit with a nice selection of memorabilia. There is also a good number of Andrew Wyeth paintings as well as other Maine related works. Definitely a place to visit if in the Rockland area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth Art Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Farnsworth Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnsworth Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.