We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnsworth Art Museum

Farnsworth Art Museum
16 Museum St, Rockland, ME 04841
207-596-6457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Rockland
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating Maine’s Role in American Art, the Farnsworth Art Museum offers a nationally recognized collection of works from many of America’s greatest artists. With 20,000 square feet of gallery space and over 10,000 works in the collection, there is always something new on view at the Farnsworth. The museum has one of the nation's largest collections of works by sculptor Louise Nevelson. Its Wyeth Center features works of Andrew, N.C. and Jamie Wyeth. The Farnsworth's library is also housed in its Rockland, ME, campus. Two historic buildings, the Farnsworth Homestead and the Olson House, and Julia's Gallery for Young Artists complete the museum complex.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“First Class Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First of all allow more time for your visit than is suggested in the guides. The holdings of this museum are pretty extensive - far larger than what we had anticipated based on the "two-hour" suggestion for viewing. Obviously the local connection with the Wyeth family is appropriately featured. We are devotees and still found many paintings with which we were unfamiliar. The Benson impressionist holdings are wonderful - worth the visit alone. The presentation galleries are far larger than what we had anticipated and made for great viewing experiences. We were also impressed with offerings in the gift shop at the conclusion of our tour - similar to the range of inventory that one might expect of The Corcoran in D.C. By all means do not miss this treasure, but leave more than a couple of hours to really enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    71
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“an unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Farnsworth Art Museum was an unexpected treat... we expected to the Wyeth paintings, but the Frank Benson Impressionist Summers exhibit brought sunshine on a rainy Maine day. The museum was larger than anticipated, well laid out, and was a high quality venue. I will certainly visit it the next time I'm in Rockland, as 2.5 hours wasn't quite long enough!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must See on your itinerary to Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Famed for its Wyeth collections it also houses a broad spectrum of work by New England painters. Its current exhibit is a large selection of Frank Benson's paintings, a very important American impressionist, one of the most compelling solo collection of paintings I've seen(check to see how long the exhibit runs). On a good day you may be able to walk along on an informal presentation of part of the museum's holdings. Right on the main street in Rockland, with plenty of good restaurants for post viewing refreshment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent - great collection of the Wyeths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had just arrived in Maine and the weather was terrible (low clouds and rain) - so we decided to stop at the Farnsworth. My friends recommended it - and I'm so glad we stopped. The current exhibit of artwork by N.C., Andrew and Jamie Wyeth (in the Wyeth Center) was fabulous - well worth the trip and the cost of admission ($12 for adults over 16). The Frank Benson paintings in the main gallery were equally exquisite. I highly recommend spending at least an hour or two.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Small and main attraction for most is the Wyeth collections some interesting pieces . But I found the Nevelson collection more interesting , and bigger than expected for a place this size.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth Art Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Farnsworth Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnsworth Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.