We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect the Expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rangeley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Rangeley Inn to your Saves list
The Rangeley Inn
2443 Main Street, PO Box 160, Rangeley, ME 04970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expect the Expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you are truly looking for a lodging experience that is reflective of the hospitality and enrichment of one the marquis regions in Maine, book a stay at the rejuvinated Rangeley Inn. Beginning with the courtesy of the reservation staff extending to the aura of the refurbished building facade, and condition of this storied property, there is a lodging and dining experience to be remembered long after your departure. A quiet jewel in an area that prides itself on community. We have lived in Maine for more than 20 years, and have never had an experience such as this. The meals, the wine, the decor and most of all the hospitality, made for a warm weekend in the midst of the long cold winter of 2014. But sssshhh don't tell anyone we want to go back whenever we can!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I took A snowmobile tour group riding in the Rangeley area and stayed at the Rangeley Inn. From the first phone call through our departure everything was great. Jenn at the front desk was great she handled all our requests and some last minute changes with a great attitude that contributed to a wonderful trip. The duck at dinner was very good. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Rangeley Inn is a beautiful hotel with so much history and character. It is really great that the Inn has been restored and its history preserved. From the grandiose reception area with a fireplace, piano and taxidermy to the tin ceilings of the dining room and rustic feel of the original tavern, the new owner Travis Ferland has breathed new life into this iconic Rangeley relic. Travis has a lot of exciting plans for the Inn and is very integrated in the local community happenings. Travis gave us some great suggestions for outdoor activities in town and some great restaurant recommendations. Their tavern has a great micro-beer selection and great bar staff. Though I did not have dinner there, I did enjoy the homemade quiche and extra-large English muffins in the free continental breakfast. Overall Travis and Jen’s hospitality was topnotch. I look forward to visiting the Inn again soon and would highly recommend their service and accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our family recently spent a long weekend in Rangeley at the Inn. It was a great place to stay for us. Our room was in the Lodge, which was a separate building behind the Inn. We were on an end unit which was nicely decorated and comfortable for our family of four for the weekend. The bathroom looked like it had recently been redone and had a huge shower with a bench in it. There was a beautiful deck that overlooked the pond behind the Inn, and in the summer I bet it would be a lovely place to sit and enjoy the sunset. Our room was extremely quiet. Despite being full, we never heard any of our neighbors at night. The free continental breakfast was homemade and delicious. We particularly enjoyed the buttermilk chocolate chip muffins as well as the blueberry ones. There were also always two kinds of quiche available - one vegetarian, and one with meat - as well as bagels, juice and coffee. Yogurt and granola were also available. The only thing they might consider adding is some fresh fruit. Then it would be perfect! We also ate dinner in the Pour House (the attached tavern) one night. All our meals were delicious and there was something for everyone. Service was excellent and the bill was very reasonable for the food we got. We will definitely go back here again, possibly in the summer next time. Proximity to everything in-town, as well as to Saddleback Mountain and the Rangeley Lakes Trail Center made it an ideal location. Congrats to the new owners - they are doing all the right things!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had stayed at the Rangeley Inn two years ago, with the previous owners. After hearing it had changed hands, we decided to try it again for our annual Saddleback ski trip. We were delighted by the improvement. The new owner Travis is just what the Rangeley Inn needed. The whole place seemed brighter and fresher.

The continental breakfast was a nice way to get going in the morning. It featured fresh muffins, bagels, granola, and quiche, and a selection of teas and coffee.

We enjoyed a pleasant dinner in the pub for two nights. The friendly staff and fireplace made for a cozy evening after skiing.

We stayed in two comfortable adjoining rooms that were very clean, and an excellent value. We're looking forward to seeing the rooms and suites currently under renovations.

Thank you Travis!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here on our first trip to area for the Snowdeo event. The person answering the phone when booking the hotel was very accommodating and listened intently to our requests. Upon our arrival month later we were told that our room was not yet ready and requested to come back in 2 hours, at 2:00 PM. This was a bit unusual as the parking lot was empty and it seemed to me that there was lots of availability. We agreed non the less and enjoyed couple hours making ourselves acquaintance with local snowmobile trails. When we returned after 2:00 we were told that the room was still not ready and if we could give the crew another 5 minutes. We walked slowly to our room (215) and found the housekeeping just leaving the room. Our first impression of the room was WOW its good size. Its a standard room, with desk and chair, amour with TV, couple of night stands with lamps, king size bed, two chairs with small table, microwave and small coffee maker and electric "fireplace". As previously mentioned the room itself is pretty big and allowed plenty of room for two people, the bathroom contained Jacuzzi/shower combo with small sink and toilet. So now for the bad: the room had a commercial cleaning product smell that lingered throughout. The toilet did not flush and required manual assistance each time we used, the Jacuzzi had "hairy" things shoot out of its jets and the plug in the bathroom did not work leaving the hairdryer useless. Also the housekeeping left a bit to be desired, by not cleaning the coffee maker, leaving empty used coffee cups out on the table. We chalked this up to the overwhelmed number of guests they must of had that weekend. The free breakfast was OK, and never ready when we went down. We had to wait twice despite arriving well after the start time. The lounge seemed very nice and we did have dinner there once, the waitress was VERY accommodating but the food was OK at its best. We will likely come back due to its proximity to the trails and town itself. Over all the Inn is charming with some great details and lots of potentials, seems that the Inn recently went through ownership changes and I hope that the new owners are able to resolve few annoyances. Its the little details that count after all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis F, Owner/Manager at The Rangeley Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I feel terrible about the problems you encountered and wish you had brought these to our attention while you were here so we could resolve them. Unfortunately the room had been mistreated before your stay, so the housekeepers were giving it extra attention prior to your arrival - the reason why it wasn't ready on time. It sounds like there were some issues they didn't catch.

I personally run the continental breakfasts, and yes, I was having a hard time keeping up with demand over the busy weekend. This is something we're addressing by changing our buffet setup. It was our first time serving so many people for breakfast.

I do hope that you'll stay with us again, and please do let us know if you encounter any problems. We will always go out of our way to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The newly renovated Rangeley Inn is a bright, and welcoming sight as you drive into town. The new owners have enlivened the old inn with a fresh face of blue, trimmed with white and beautifully lit at night. We stopped for a drink at the pub and loved the atmosphere. There was a fire roaring, warm and welcoming after a day outdoors. The bartender was great and made us feel right at home with exceptional service. He even created a delicious nonalcoholic drink for my sister. The Inn really looks beautiful. We can't wait to come back for dinner, and try the interesting and creative menu. A really nice find!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis F, Owner/Manager at The Rangeley Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you, Valerie - we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Tavern. Please come back and try out our menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rangeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rangeley Inn

Address: 2443 Main Street, PO Box 160, Rangeley, ME 04970
Location: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rangeley Inn is the last surviving historic country inn In the western lakes & mountains of Maine. It was built at a time where wealthy guests came by train from New York, Massachusetts and Pennsylvania to escape the noise and bustle of the city and enjoy the serenity, beauty and wildlife of the Rangeley Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Rangeley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rangeley Hotel Rangeley
The Rangeley Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rangeley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.