We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, the best ski area in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Maine

Saddleback Maine
976 Saddleback Mountain Rd, Rangeley, ME
207-864-5671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Rangeley
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Saddleback, we've taken a different road from other large resorts. From our natural terrain and our wilderness environment to how the mountain was developed and is operated, almost everything about Saddleback is different.It's a magnificent mountain with genuine values and a gentle soul. It's the way Alpine skiing and riding used to be. Classic New England ski terrain with trails that follow the contours. Snow-covered conifers over most of the mountain create a different feel with rime-frosted trees at the lower elevations and snow ghosts at the upper. High elevation alpine experience with snowfields. At 4120 ft elevation, Saddleback is only one of seven ski mountains in New England with atop lift elevation over 4000 feet. Our vertical is greater than several well-known big mountain resorts. Kennebago Steeps! is the largest steep skiing and riding facility in the East. Saddleback has extensive glades like other ski areas but only Saddleback has Casablanca Glades & Chutes which provide endless ways down through Paradise.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow, the best ski area in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Saddleback mountain, is the most friendly and experienced ski area in he world. It is full of life, with wonderful views but most of all, the friendly people. I have been going there for years and grooming is always perfect, snow is always good late-season and the food is good. The queues are always very small and the Casablanca glades, provide the best glade skiing in the World! This place is truly beautiful, with lovely family, beginner and experienced skiing. The area of Rangeley Lakes have unbelievable views, helped by the high elevated resort. This place is the best place to ski and it also has a great ski team for younger children!!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in the East and Old School, too"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Saddleback Maine is big mountain skiing for small mountain prices with some of the best glades and mogul in the East. It is wicked family friendly, with plenty of blue and green terrain, too. It sports a civil community of skiers where people actually talk to each other (to strangers) on the lifts, in the line and in the lodge. There are great mountains to ski in Maine, and I skied them all (and many others too), but I ski Saddleback all the time because the the lines are short, the powder is fresh, and the people are wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Ski Experience in New England!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Big mountain skiing, Unpretentious atmosphere. Great snow, even late in the season. Down-home, friendly service by every staff member, from ticket sellers, lift operators to food service and bartenders. This place has become my absolute favorite ski area in the East! I only wished it was closer to home, then I'd be there every day!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangeley, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I love this mountain so maybe I hope no one else will come ski here so I can have it alllllllllll to myself! If you like to ski in the quiet beautiful mountains, see the occasional passing moose on the trail, and ride one of the last historic T-bars in the WORLD, come here and don't ever tell anyone else where you are going. Let's keep it a secret.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Place that time forgot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just spent a few days up at Saddleback Mountain, our first visit ever. We are hooked! Stayed in a wonderful trailside condo, tastefully furnished, beautiful view. We could not believe how uncrowded it was and the slopes were in perfect condition. So few people skiing that the corduroy never got worn off!! All of the staff and workers were friendly, food was good. We had a great time and will certainly be back. I'm not going to talk about it too much, don't want to let the secret out!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddleback Maine also viewed

 

Been to Saddleback Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddleback Maine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.