We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place even for families. . . .but....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
16 Pickford Rd, P.O. Box 676, Rangeley, ME 04970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place even for families. . . .but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Beautiful, rustic, well kept, clean, organized, quintessential woodsy, lakefront Maine In reality, the Loon Lodge is certainly to be strongly considered when planning overnight trip to the Rangeley area. The views can't be beat, the cozy fireplace, sitting area, bar, the building's history, charm, character, and restaurant ooze rustic, homey elegance. The rooms are appropriately appointed...... Now you wonder why I rated the Loon Lodge an overall poor choice? Two major, (emphasis major) issues ---

-- COMFORT: though the beds are comfy comfy comfy, the fold out futon beds which allow another person or so in the room (works for kids) are the pits. The futons in both rooms we've stayed in are barely adequate from a comfort perspective - be prepared for a rough night's sleep, especially when you end up trading places cuz one of the kids can't sleep well on the futon.
---NOISE: Someone else I believe mentioned - - the walls, and floors are paper thin - you can hear every (and I mean every) snore, cough, sneeze, toilet flushing, door closing, conversation taking place in adjacent rooms or downstairs - particularly in one room that is pretty much over the fireplaced sitting area. We were so lucky enough recently to be treated to the cook telling his life story to what seemed like a newfound friendship with a female guest whuile sitting by the fireplace though sounding as though they were at the foot of our bed - - - and I'll add, the entire flirtaceous conversation occurred over wine and between the hours of 1:00am to 4:00am - not fun! To say I was cranky in the morning is an understatement. You'd think there'd be a policy of these kinds of shenanigans. . . . .
As mentioned, the Lodge is exquisite and it's a shame something cannot be done to improve the acoustic issues. . . . . . though for the reasons above, I'd never every consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Inn offers of a beautifully rustic ambiance from the wooden floors to the stone fireplace. The most accommodating staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet; they served with skill and an obviously honest charm. Our purpose there was for an elopement service in front of the fireplace. The manager saw to it that everything went smoothly for us and our 6 guests. After our Notary performed a "Rose" ceremony, we had a champagne toast and a semi private dinner. The dining was very enjoyable and delicious and again, the staff bent over backwards to see that our evening went perfect.We have already re-booked for the late spring and some of the best trout and salmon fishing in the state.
Our trip could not possibly have been better - thank you Beth and staff.

Room Tip: The Lakeside rooms are large, quite and have great views of the lake; worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Lodge is a beautiful, historic lodge with a great dinner. The wait staff was very pleasant and attended to our needs. The manager of the lodge was both professional and pleasant. The views were spectacular. Great start to our visit!

Unfortunately, the walls are VERY thin and we enjoyed the sound of music, conversation and snoring through the night. The temperature of the room was 67 degrees when we awoke and the thermostat had a lock box cover. There was no hot water for a morning shower and although we let it run several minutes, we left without a shower to our next destination.

Great views and professional staff, but with the challenges we faced, it is doubtful we will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We loved the Loon Lodge from the minute we walked through the door. It is charming, decorated in a great cabin style, very warm and inviting. The view of the lake and sunsets on the lake are spectacular. We loved our room, The Nordic room and woke to a view out onto the beautiful lake.

Dinner was fantastic. Service was warm and friendly. All around an enchanting time. While breakfast is not served there, Mooseley Bagels down the street is wonderful for breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked the Nordic and would choose a room with a view of the lake. The bathroom for the Nordic is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were looking for a place to unwind and WOW did we find it! We left the premises for breakfast and a walk in town and spent the rest of the time relaxing, reading and enjoying the lodge! We were greeted by Beth and invited to get settled in & relax. We made reservations for dinner & spent the afternoon sitting by the lake & enjoying the view & more importantly, the peace! The food was superb to the point we asked to meet the head chef, Patrick to tell him how much we enjoyed the meals while there. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating to our requests! We spent the last night watching a great thunderstorm come in & sipping great wine from their collection. We will be back....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Loon Lodge & most of its iterations over the years exemplifies mountain cabin spectacular craft. This original log lodge is just over 100 years old and retains the magnificent interior log work - completely updated and rennovated but in keeping w/its original character. Beautiful lake views (what lake views in Rangeley are not spectacular?). This review focuses on the dining at Loon Lodge - both restaurant & pub. Excellent dinners - different but not fad-ish or exotic - competent./friendly staff. Decent wine list. Homemade lemon 'intermezzo' unexpected & awesome - always w/a sprig of fresh mint and fresh baked individual loaves of homemade bread. Very accommodating chef (who has returned following a short absence - and misstep for the venue) prepares favorite meals from past menus on our request. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I had dinner twice last week in the pub with my husband. Consistent with the rest of the inn, the pub has a traditional mountain camp décor with real wood panels and pictures of snowmobiles. It is a popular spot for the locals on Wednesday-Saturday evenings. In the summer, they boat across the lake and dock at the inn. It is a beautiful location for weddings which get close attention from the event manager and the owners. The waitress seemed happy and was quick.

The menu in the pub includes pub entrees, dining room entrees, and dinner specials, and there is a full bar. The glasses of pinot noir were a quality well above the typical house wine. The portion sizes and quality were very good.

I loved the Loon Lodge Salad, spring mix lettuce, pecans, dried cranberries and a generous pile of deep-fried onion strips. The Mushroom Strudel had sautéed mushrooms with garlic, leeks and chevre cheese wrapped in crispy phyllo dough and served with a port demi glace. The browned phyllo piled on top was showy but didn’t contribute much although the filling was tasty. Baked Brie en Croute was standard, but I really liked the warm fruit sauce on it. My husband enjoyed and ate a huge serving of Saturday-special prime rib. The butternut squash ravioli were in a subtly sweet and seasoned cream sauce with lots of sautéed vegetables. I asked for some chicken with it, and got slices of tender chicken on top. We were too stuffed for dessert.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

Address: 16 Pickford Rd, P.O. Box 676, Rangeley, ME 04970
Location: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant Rangeley, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.