We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Elephant

The Green Elephant
608 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101
+1 207-347-3111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Asian-inspired cuisine made with love.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place was great! We ordered the Tofu Tikka Masala and Cauliflower special, good portions for the price and both were delicious!! Nice flavors but not overpowering, not very spicy. The whole menu was vegan friendly. Service was nice and friendly. I ordered the tutti frutti tea and I wasn't that impressed but otherwise I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    51
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My partner and I ordered the Tikka Masala and Peanut Curry, and they were both wonderful. The flavors were both bold and complex. The service was very friendly, and the decor was very appealing, if a bit tight. It was a great meal, and I would not hesitate to go back if I am ever in Portland again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dismayed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have heard so many wonderful things about this restaurant. But last evening we took two friends who are vegetarians to this restaurant and were very disappointed. The service was fine, the wine was good, but the food was less than mediocre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Brussels Sprouts (did I really say that?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a pleasure to be able to consider all the items on a full menu, because they're all vegetarian (not to mention mostly vegan). My wife ordered the Brussels sprouts, and I gamely said I'd try one. Well, I probably ended up eating half of them - they were truly amazing, not a word I ever thought I'd use in reference to that particular vegetable. Sweet, slightly crispy, addictive. Turns out they've actually published the recipe in a Portland restaurant cookbook. Our main course items were variations on vegetable stir fry, my spicy one just the right heat (I asked for very hot) and her peanut sauce one very tasty. The prices were far more reasonable than I would have expected for such great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Asian-inspired but not the same as Asian-run veg restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was expecting a vegetarian Asian run mock-meat restaurant in the same vein as Grasshopper or My Thai in Boston. Green Elephant is a nice vegetarian restaurant a bit more upscale than your typical mock-meat place, with some strong Asian-inspired dishes (peanut curry) and some weaker misses (crispy wontons filled with spinach and....cheese). If an all-vegetarian place is a novelty to you, by all means, sit and enjoy a restaurant where you can safely order anything off the menu. Service was both officious and flaky. Wine was a bit pricy for a small pour. Having tried it once and liking the food well enough, I doubt we'd try it again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Elephant also viewed

 

Been to The Green Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.