We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, comfy room, no breakfast, pricey restaurant on site, terrible wi fi !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
203 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Nice staff, comfy room, no breakfast, pricey restaurant on site, terrible wi fi !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Well...

Very warmly welcome and free room upgrade (it pays off to be a Diamond member)... But regular price : $89 compare to Priceline : $43... Easy choice to make; right ???

Very happy of customer service, nice clean room, nice hd TV, very very bad Internet - limited and so slow !!!

No free breakfast and restaurant on site is pricey, even the hotel staff suggests me to go somewhere else (deli next door and Whole Food 5 minutes driving away).

A good, not great, option when staying for a few nights without business Internet needs in Portland...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    135
    87
    46
    29
See reviews for
98
126
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilford, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

To start we got our room early no issues till we got to our room maids were having meeting in room, we stood there for 2 mins and had what looked like the maintenance guy walk right by us and into the room to. We sat there for another 3mins and went back down stairs with bags in hand and they gave us another room. Here is more BAD!!!:
1) hall ways real cold.
2) Room heat would not adjust either too hot with loud noise or COLD.
3) Hot tub was only 1/2 filled with water to the point where jets were like a fountain. And it was under the return where the chlorine tabs was. Complained they filled but did not check the water and it was too cold too get into before it closed for the night..
4) pool looked dirty but believe that the bottom needs repainting. The pool room was to cold to sit in!!!
5) While we were there we talked to others that found same issues.
6) When we left they would not give us a receipt because we booked on line. Weird!
We did not eat there. would not dare too and will not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have to go hear get king size bed that was the only thing that was good about our stay, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you are traveling Amtrak this is an ideal location and was the reason for my overnight. Room was comfortable but the floor lamp had no wall outlet. I rearranged the room to fit. Only one slow elevator. If they have near full occupancy this could be a problem. Senior pricing was attractive - but it is off season. Pet friendly. No complimentary breakfast and that which was offered for $8.95 was simply awful. Prepared items were cold and appeared to be yesterday's leftovers. Coffee was flat. Eggs were not replenished. Started the day with a bad taste in my mouth. Amtrak food was an upgrade.

Room Tip: Although the rear of building has exits they cannot be used for reentry. If convenient reentry is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Portland, Maine. I was very satisfied with this property most of all with the efficient and friendly staff. All services provided to me were "A1" and this over a one week stay. The location is ideal allowing one to access the city of Portland, Maine and all surrounding areas. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I recently stayed overnight at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I had supper in the hotel restaurant. The steak of ok. The green beans were undercooked and nearly cold. The butter I tried to spread on them would not melt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have stayed here several times, as we have family in the area. We are always able to get a room through Priceline express deals for $50 per night. Rooms include a small refrigerator and microwave, but you have to ask for them. The rooms are comfortable, but really in need of a makeover. Carpets are stained and the furniture is scuffed. Ceilings have some stains and the rooms display some dusty spots. The work out room is small but usable. The pool area is large and the hot tub in good order. There is a restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The staff is accommodating.

The best part of staying here besides the price is its proximity to Portland, where there is always something happening. We have stayed in the Old Port area, but parking is not free as it is at the Clarion. There are several places that you can walk to for food and libation.

If you are not a picky person and willing to overlook the worn atmosphere, it's a great place to stay for an extremely reasonable price in an area where rooms are usually very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a refrigerator and microwave. Poolside rooms are nice but VERY NOISY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed here twice (Oct. & Dec. 2013). I was having surgery at the nearby Maine Eye Center. The "medical" rate was very reasonable indeed. The hotel was clean and quiet. The restaurant was good -- and my husband and I appreciated not having to go out to eat. (Navigating around while relying on one "usable" eye would not have been easy.) The staff were gracious and helpful. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1230 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.