We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location to Shopping and Freeways” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Central Location to Shopping and Freeways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice clean hotel just off the 295 highway with easy access to the I95. Only minutes away from the shopping of Freeport, South Portland and 50 minutes from Kittery, Maine.
Hotel has a lovely lobby, large free parking lot, internet and wifi, coffee in the lobby but no continental breakfast. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and bedding. Quiet location with friendly staff. We booked through Priceline and got a great deal of $120.00 (high season rate) per night.
We would stay here again for it's easy location to the exits on and off the highways.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for your review PMFHalifax! For guests looking to experience all that this area of Maine has to offer, we are conveniently positioned. We are a mere minutes from the big box stores of the Maine Mall or the boutique shops of the Old Port. Easily accessible from both I295 and I95, we are convenient as a home base for your Maine vacation or a stopping point on your way north or south.

We appreciate the fact that you made the time to share your experience and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    134
    87
    46
    29
See reviews for
98
126
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was in a very good location, clean and had a good restaurant for breakfast. Prices for all Portland hotels were high for the time of year but I got a good deal using Priceline. The desk clerk told us of a local Italian restaurant nearby and it was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you Casteeves! We appreciate your making the time to give us some feedback. We strive to offer a great experience that exceeds the price we charge. Value is important in these times and we will continue to provide just that. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I found the entire staff to very accommodating, friendly, and informed.
I would like to mention Blaine at the front desk as he was so helpful and patient with my numerous questions and needs. Very professional and yet warm and kind. I truly felt in good hands.
As an aside regarding my one breakfast... the chef and servers were wonderful. Personable and attentive.
Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for making the time to write Christy P! We appreciate your feedback and will make sure that Blaine and the food service team get your kind words. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

After reading the other reviews on this site, we were worried about our stay here (which we'd booked on Priceline). However, we have nothing but great things to say about our experience. The room we stayed in (424) was very clean with comfortable beds and fluffy pillows. The bathroom in our room was entirely in tact (no problems others have mentioned) and the shower was hot and strong. Our son enjoyed the pool (which was was pretty chilly) and my husband enjoyed the hot tub. The only thing that seemed to need updating was the elevator which was slow and/or out-of-order for most of our 3-day stay.

They had complimentary coffee each morning and the staff were quite helpful. We took a cab downtown one night and they called the cab for us and gave us coupons for the service. While we wish we had been closer to downtown (it's a 5- to 10-minute drive), we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have just completed a significant renovation and I am pleased to see the positive impact it is having on the experience of all our valued guests. The imperfections noted in many recent reviews have been corrected. As I have in the past, I encourage all future guests to share their experiences, both positive and constructive with our team at any time. We stand by our Commitment to Satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and again, thank you for making the time to share your story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I booked the hotel from Hotwire. Not what I expected. The rooms are old and the bathroom wasn't as clean as I expected. The bed were comfy but other than that it is not a 3 star hotel.
Even my son who's 10 said the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel staff were the best part of the hotel. They were friendly and very helpful. We got the hotel on Priceline and now I am thinking to never use Priceline again because location does matter and they push the boundries of the choice areas too hard. The hotel was OK but way too far from all the cute little shops and great craft breweries. We had to use cabs to go back and forth because drinking and driving through the busy streets is not a good idea. The cab drivers were great though and very helpful about where the best places were. Loved Portland!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel does not resemble a 3-star experience in any way, and the fee was almost double what one should pay for a property of this quality.

The hotel is run-down and in desperate need of renovation
The hotel room smelled horribly, with the air conditioning unit emitting a powerful musty odor (We stayed in #622, just like another reviewer, but I imagine all the rooms were like this)
Water stains all over the ceiling and walls
Holes in the walls
No covers on the fixtures.
Extremely uncomfortable cheap bedding and pillows

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1230 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.