We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK; could have been so much better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Portland
San Juan, PR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just OK; could have been so much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Strong points:
Outstanding location
Free Parking for guests
Stunning views from the East-facing rooms

Weak points:
Facilities, rooms, furnishings, equipment look dated and kind of tired, specially in meeting/activity areas.
Price point relative to the amenities and facilities.

Yes, I am aware that Portland/Maine Coast in the summer high season can mean high prices due to high upper-end demand. But in the case of the HIBtB there is the additional factor that apparently there is no other business-conference venue of this scale in town and they just "have" you. In any case the quality of the installations was below what I expected at the price from other meeting locations. In particular, Casco Bay Hall (exhibit/luncheon room) looks old and cheap. The location itself is excellent and the view from the East(rear)-facing rooms is impressive from a higher room. The free parking and wifi ARE especially welcome, too many business hotels tend to hit you on that (although the wifi kept cutting off or timing out, may be time to upgrade the network).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    307
    117
    38
    25
See reviews for
134
284
37
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Hotel is conveniently located in walking distance to Commerical Street and Congress Street, streets that you would probably visit very often when staying in Portland. The hotel is clean and quiet, with spacious rooms. Staff were friendly, as well. We booked a standard room online, and the room we got on the 8th floor had a king bed, two big sofas, dinning table for four, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Price-wise, this is also a reasonable hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Lucky for us we had visited the bedbug registery website and printed instructions on how to inspect your hotel room when you arrive. One of our rooms on the 11th floor was infested with bedbugs. We saw them as soon as we pulled back the bed skirt. The manger on duty that morning ( August 21) was rather indignant and did not handle our group well. Housekeeping went back to the room with one of us and confirmed the infestation. Moral of the story: Inspect your room upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Bed bugs have appeared in many places in the last few years including such unlikely places as the Empire State Building, Victoria's Secret, Abercrombie & Fitch, movie theaters, hospitals, and college dorms to name just a few. Hotels, ours included, are not immune.

We have taken a proactive approach to the issue of bed bugs since it began to be publicized, almost two years ago. Our rooms are on a regular inspection schedule with a professional exterminating company. Our Housekeeping staff, as well as Management, have participated in a training class to educate us all about detection and prevention.

When the guest (making the comments) made us aware of the problem, we reacted immediately. We moved the guest to another room on another floor; we called our exterminating company and they came and treated the effected room as well as several rooms around it as a precautionary measure.

As revolting and unappealing as they are, bed bugs are not known to carry disease, nor do they have anything to do with cleanliness. No one knows for certain what caused a recent resurgence of bed bugs in the US. Contributing factors may include more international travel; increased travel in general; a reduction in use of some pesticides (such as DDT). There appears to be a general increase in the prevalence of bed bugs world wide.

Please know that our hotel takes every measure necessary to protect our rooms and our guests. We will continue to follow our rigorous inspection schedule. We thank the guest above for pointing the problem out to us so we could react and correct immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Yes, I know, it is a Holiday Inn. But one of the nicer ones I have stayed at. You must get a window looking out onto the harbor. We have stayed there many times over the past few years. Sometimes the weather was so bad we couldn't get out of the hotel. No problem. We just pulled a chair up to the windows! It is like sitting on your front porch watching the world float by. Bring binoculars!
Try not to eat in the restaurant though. There are so many really great places to eat that are within walking distance. That said, if you get snowed in as we once did, it is OK to eat there.
Try to see who and what is going on across the street at the arena before you book. Some events draw a rowdy crowd.
Oh and FREE PARKING! None of the other pricey/trendy hotels have that!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed for one night in Portland after a long drive. Hotel was a 8-10 minute walk to the main downtown strip. Free parking and everyone was nice. The hotel was a little expensive for what it is but we had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Have always stayed at the Eastland Park in Portland, but decided to give this a try as the rate was better & parking was free. Also a bit closer to Old Port. So glad we did! We got a beautiful room on the 11th floor, with great views, & huge flatscreen TV. WIFI worked perfectly..loved the Keurig coffemaker. Free coffee & lemonade in lobby 24/7. Signed up for Holiday Inn priority club & got a nice goody bag upon check-in. Also, was offered free water for our trip home. Didn't want the big breakfast, so I asked if I could just purchase some pastry from their buffet to take back to the room. No problem & they only charged my room $3.20 for 3 yummy mini-muffins & 2 donuts....so don't hesitate to ask. This particular hotel has customer service down pat. This has become our new home when in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

On a recent road trip Down East, we thought it was terrific stop. Room was quiet and clean, good walking distance to Old Port. Staff was friendly. At breakfast (which was delicious), there was a fire alarm and we had to go outside. Upon returning, they comped everyone's breakfast. They have the customer service thing down...down east!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.