We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Three-Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Three-Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently spent three nights here, starting the night of Halloween. (I had originally planned to arrive one day earlier but Superstorm Sandy resulted in flight cancellations. I was able to re-schedule after a simple call to the reservations desk.) Hotel is conveniently located around the corner from the Museum of Art and within walking distance of the Civic Center, historic district, downtown commercial center and the many restaurants along Congress St. My room was comfortable and featured a large, flat-screen tv, fridge, microwave and coffee maker, as well as a decent view of Casco Bay. Hotel restaurant served up a decent breakfast and hotel shuttle van provided free trip to the airport. Front-desk staff were friendly and courteous. Room rate was very competitive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    311
    119
    38
    25
See reviews for
136
289
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel has a fantastic location, excellent staff, and a great breakfast. I would recommend it to any one visiting Portland Me. for any reason. The rooms were clean and we were delighted with having the choice of pillows soft or hard, marked in a very cute way.

Room Tip: Both Bay and Mountain view are great. However if you like to watch ships coming and going then Bay V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn for a confernce and was very pleased with the hotel. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. There was a large frig, microwave, and Kureig machine for coffee. They also had a large safe in the room that was big enough for a laptop and easy to use. They have a large pool and a small but adequate gym. (Don't go expecting to do a full body workout!) I did not eat in the restaurant but did eat at the conference and the food was good. They have a nice lounge, cozy with nice chairs and pleasent wait staff. They have a van that will bring you to area restaurants and come pick you up which is a nice perk. Especially since the weather was not very nice when I went. The parking garage is convient and free. They will also provide valet service if you need it. One nice perk was free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby which was nice. All in all a good place to stay when you find yourself in Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

easy walking to main downtown area shops and restaurants. shuttle service to/from airport and train. i was very happy with my stay here, and the bed was amazing! it was hard to get out in the morning. this was the first time i've stayed in a holiday inn since i was a kid; i usually prefer non-chains just to enjoy the individuality of local hotels, but i figured for one night why not, and save a little money. but it was a great choice, and make me more likely to consider them in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and very helpful with suggestions on great local eateries.
The rooms are clean and modern and this hotel has a little jem, fantastic indoor pool on lower level. Right off of the fitness room there is also a nice little sauna to warm your bones after walking on the breezy waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to everything. The room was clean and updated and the beds were comfortable. There is a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a gift/snack shop next to the lobby. The price was reasonable compared to the comps. Overall we were satisfied with the hotel and the service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding here and we were forced to stay here by our family. The people that work here are very nice and helpful. Free wifi is cool. Public spaces are adequate and clean. The rooms are clean, but dated. The bathroom was ok but the plastic ceiling I'n the shower would accumulate condensation and then cold water would drip on you. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.